This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

When Stars are Scattered [9780571363858]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Omar and his brother Hassan, two Somali boys, have spent a long time in the Dadaab refugee camp. Separated from their mother, they are looked after by a friendly stranger. Life in the camp isn't always easy. The hunger is constant . . . but there's football to look forward to, and now there's a chance Omar will get to go to school . . . With a heart-wrenching fairytale ending, this incredible true story is brought to life by Victoria's stunning illustrations. This book perfectly depicts life in a refugee camp for 8-12 year olds.
AUTHOR: Victoria Jamieson is the creator of the graphic novels All's Faire in Middle School and Newbery Honor winner Roller Girl. She received her BFA in illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design and worked as a children's book designer before becoming a freelance illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. Now she lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and son. Omar Mohamed spent his childhood at the Dadaab camp, after his father was killed and he was separated from his mother in Somalia. He devoted everything to taking care of his younger brother, Hassan, and to pursuing his education. He now lives in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, with his wife and five children, and works at a center to help resettle other refugees. He is the founder of Refugee Strong, a non-profit organization that empowers students living in refugee camps. He still works with the Dadaab camp and travels back there once a year. Iman Geddy, the colourist for this book, is an Atlanta-based designer and illustrator who is passionate about using the graphic arts for social good. Inspired by the geometric harmony of Islamic architecture as well as the colourful equatorial landscapes of eastern Africa, she creates striking art that highlights the beauty of the world around us.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£8.33
(You save £1.66 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780571363858
ISBN13:
9780571363858
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Victoria Jamieson
Publisher:
Faber & Faber
Publication:
02-Jul-2020
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
264
Weight:
536 Grams
Five Feet Apart cover photo

Five Feet Apart [9781471182310]

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson in March 2019!In this moving story that's perfect for fans of John Gre…

rrp: £7.99
£7.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Colours of History: How Colours Shaped the World cover photo

The Colours of History: How Colours Shaped the World [9781784939670]

Winner of the Blue Peter Book Awards 2019 for Best Factual Book Why did Roman emperors wear purple? Which colour is made from crushed beetles? What g…

rrp: £11.99
£9.15
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Star Wars Junior Novel 5 Book Collection [9780603576720]

Star Wars Junior Novel 5 Book Collection [9780603576720]

2017 saw the 40th anniversary of the release of Star Wars: A New Hope, the film that launched the greatest space fantasy epic in history. To celebrate…

rrp: £34.95
£12.99
Not currently available.
The Wild Way Home cover photo

The Wild Way Home [9781526616289]

When Charlie's longed-for brother is born with a serious heart condition, Charlie's world is turned upside down. Upset and afraid, Charlie flees the …

rrp: £6.99
£6.65
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
1000 Inventions and Discoveries cover photo

1000 Inventions and Discoveries [9780241412800]

Dip into this illustrated account of key inventions and discoveries, listed year by year, with intriguing facts about each invention and the person (o…

rrp: £12.99
£9.61
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
One Tin Bakes cover photo

One Tin Bakes [9780857838599]

ONE TIN, 70 BAKES  Whether you want cookies or cakes, pastries or desserts, something fruity, chocolatey, spiced or nutty, baking just got a who…

rrp: £17.99
£15.24
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Blue cover photo

Blue [9781408355961]

A beautiful story about sadness, depression and hope. Blue lives in the darkest depths of the forest. He has long forgotten how to fly, sing and play.…

rrp: £6.99
£6.57
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Be Kind cover photo

Be Kind [9781529041903]

What does it mean to be kind? When Tanisha spills grape juice all over her new dress, her classmate contemplates how to make her feel better and what…

rrp: £6.99
£6.57
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
2001: A Space Odyssey cover photo

2001: A Space Odyssey [9781838719807]

Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968) is widely regarded as one of the best films ever made. It has been celebrated for its beauty and myster…

rrp: £11.99
£10.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Taxonomy of Love cover photo

A Taxonomy of Love [9781419739859]

A YA romance-with a sparkling commercial voice and a dash of science-that explores a relationship over six years The moment Spencer meets Hope the…

rrp: £6.99
£6.57
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days