Christmas Shop Now Open
Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£7.16
(You save £2.83 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List

War and Turpentine [9780099598046]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE

'A future classic' - Neel Mukherjee, Guardian

'A masterly book about memory, art, love and war' - New York Times

Shortly before his death at the age of 90, Stefan Hertmans' grandfather gave him a set of notebooks.

As Stefan began to read about Urbain - so quiet and reserved in life - he learned of his grandfather's heroics in the First World War, the loss of his great love, and his later years spent seeking solace in art and painting. Gradually, a portrait emerged of the grandfather he had never fully known.

War and Turpentine lovingly reconstructs a man's interior life, at once so deeply personal and yet so evocative of many of his generation, affected by the long shadow of war.

'Masterpiece, an accolade often casually bestowed, really does describe this magnificent book' - Sunday Times

'A mesmerising portrait of an artist as a young man, a significant contribution to First World War literature and a brilliant evocation of a vanished world' - Herald

'A rich fictional memoir... Death, destruction, obligation, duty - Urbain faces them all and yet he still finds joy in life' - The Times


AUTHOR: Stefan Hertmans is the prizewinning author of many literary works, including poetry, novels, essays, plays, short stories and a handbook on the history of art. He has taught at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Ghent, at the Sorbonne, the Universities of Vienna, Berlin and Mexico City, at The Library of Congress in Washington, and University College London.
more
less
SKU:
9780099598046
ISBN13:
9780099598046
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Stefan Hertmans
Publisher:
Vintage
Publication:
04-May-2017
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
304
Weight:
246 Grams
War Cry cover photo

War Cry [9780007535897]

The new Courtney novel from the No.1 international bestseller. 'That time is upon us. I can feel it coming. That evil barbarian will not be satisfied …

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Wanted cover photo

Wanted [9781472215116]

A sizzling erotic romance series, perfect for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and the Crossfire series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Voynich Manuscript cover photo

Voynich Manuscript [9781786780775]

A UNIQUE INSIGHT INTO THE WORLD'S most mysterious manuscript. Since its creation in the first half of the 15th century, the Voynich Manuscript has fas…

rrp: £27.99
£19.42
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
@War cover photo

`@War [9780755365180]

The spies had come without warning. They plied their craft silently, stealing secrets from the world's most powerful military. They were at work month…

rrp: £10.99
£10.16
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
We Were on a Break cover photo

We Were on a Break [9780007582419]

Is it a break? Or is it a blip? 'You've just had a holiday,' I pointed out, trying not to yawn. 'Wasn't that enough of a break?' 'I don't mean that k…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days