This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

To Obama: A People's History [9781408894507]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
One of the most important politics books of the year, To Obama is a record of a time when politics intersected with empathy. Every day, President Obama received ten thousand letters from ordinary American citizens. Every night, he read ten of them before going to bed. In To Obama, Jeanne Marie Laskas interviews President Obama, the letter-writers themselves and the White House staff in the Office of Presidential Correspondence who were witness to the millions of pleas, rants, thank-yous and apologies that landed in the mailroom during the Obama years. There is Peggy, a patriotic grandmother who thinks the President is trying to lead the country into socialism; James, who on the morning after the 2016 election tells the President to start packing; and Dawn, who writes to say that he made it possible for a very jaded generation to begin to hope and believe in the good. They wrote to Obama out of gratitude and desperation, in their darkest times of need, with anger, fear and respect. To Obama is an intimate look at one man's relationship with the American people, and at how this extraordinary dialogue shaped an era-defining presidency.
AUTHOR: Jeanne Marie Laskas is the author of eight books, including the New York Times bestseller Concussion. She is a contributing writer at the New York Times Magazine, a correspondent at GQ and a two-time National Magazine Award finalist. Her stories have also appeared in the New Yorker, the Atlantic and Esquire. She lives in Pennsylvania. jeannemarielaskas.com / @jmlaskas
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£9.06
(You save £0.93 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781408894507
ISBN13:
9781408894507
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Jeanne Marie Laskas
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication:
04-Apr-2019
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
416
Weight:
342 Grams
Sale
Today Programme Puzzle Book: The puzzle book of 2018 cover photo

Today Programme Puzzle Book: The puzzle book of 2018 [9781788400589]

***The puzzle book of 2018*** The Today Programme Puzzle Book is perfect for fans of Bletchley Park Brainteasers and The GCHQ Puzzle Book. Which is t…

rrp: £12.99
£7.97
Now: £5.30
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 2 cover photo

Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 2 [9781421594972]

In the world of Tokyo Ghoul, sometimes the only way to fight monsters is to become one... The Commission of Counter Ghoul is the only organization fig…

rrp: £8.99
£5.49
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 1 cover photo

Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 1 [9781421594965]

The Commission of Counter Ghoul is the only organization fighting the Ghoul menace, and they will use every tool at their disposal to protect humanity…

rrp: £8.99
£5.45
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Way She Wears it: The Ultimate Insider's Guide to Revealing Your Personal Style cover photo

The Way She Wears it: The Ultimate Insider's Guide to Revealing Your Personal Style [9780062455468]

The most highly sought-after fashion illustrator/luxury project designer working today uses her sketches, styling skills and visual expertise to help …

rrp: £16.99
£15.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Together is Better: A Little Book of Inspiration cover photo

Together is Better: A Little Book of Inspiration [9780241187296]

Most of us live our lives by accident - we live as it happens. Fulfilment comes when we live our lives on purpose. 'What are you going to do with your…

rrp: £12.99
£9.35
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Tokyo Ghoul 1 cover photo

Tokyo Ghoul 1 [9781421580364]

Ghouls live among us, the same as normal people in every way - except their craving for human flesh. Ken Kaneki is an ordinary college student until a…

rrp: £8.99
£5.55
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
To Kill a Mockingbird: The stunning graphic novel adaptation cover photo

To Kill a Mockingbird: The stunning graphic novel adaptation [9781785151552]

A beautifully crafted graphic novel adaptation of Harper Lee's beloved American classic. `Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit `em, but re…

rrp: £16.99
£11.74
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 6 cover photo

Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 6 [9781421595016]

In the world of Tokyo Ghoul, sometimes the only way to fight monsters is to become one... The Commission of Counter Ghoul is the only organization fig…

rrp: £8.99
£5.93
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Tombland cover photo

Tombland [9781447284482]

Tombland is the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series Spring, 1549. Two years after the death of Henry VIII, Engla…

rrp: £20.00
£13.05
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 5 cover photo

Tokyo Ghoul: re, Vol. 5 [9781421595009]

In the world of Tokyo Ghoul, sometimes the only way to fight monsters is to become one... The Commission of Counter Ghoul is the only organization fig…

rrp: £8.99
£6.14
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.