This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Things a Bright Girl Can Do [9781783446735]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote. Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women's freedom. May is fifteen, and already sworn to the cause, though she and her fellow Suffragists refuse violence. When she meets Nell, a girl who's grown up in hardship, she sees a kindred spirit. Together and in love, the two girls start to dream of a world where all kinds of women have their place. But the fight for freedom will challenge Evelyn, May and Nell more than they ever could believe. As war looms, just how much are they willing to sacrifice?
AUTHOR: Sally Nicholls grew up in Stockton-on-Tees, and after school, travelled the world, working for a period at a Red Cross hospital in Japan. Sally's first novel, Ways to Live Forever, won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and she has been shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the Costa Children's Book Award. She lives in Oxford.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £7.99
£7.51
(You save £0.48 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781783446735
ISBN13:
9781783446735
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
Sally Nicholls
Publisher:
Andersen Press Ltd
Publication:
01-Feb-2018
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
432
Chart Position:
2869
Weight:
370 Grams
I Am An Island cover photo

I Am An Island [9780857526656]

'The memoir of the year' - Vogue 'Completely astonishing… the fragility of life transcended and restored by the triumphant pull of a determina…

rrp: £16.99
£11.23
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Thousand Ships cover photo

A Thousand Ships [9781509836192]

In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective. This was never the…

rrp: £16.99
£14.58
Not currently available.
I Need a New Bum! cover photo

I Need a New Bum! [9781407196015]

The book behind the viral internet sensation of The Scottish Granny reading this story to her grandchild. A young boy suddenly notices a big problem …

rrp: £6.99
£5.62
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Dress for the Wicked cover photo

A Dress for the Wicked [9780062857347]

Betrayal has never been so fashionable than in Autumn Krause's glamorous debut, perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe.True to its name, the slee…

rrp: £7.99
£7.29
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days