This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Wolf and the Watchman [9781473682122]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Best Debut, The Swedish Academy of Crime Writers' Award 2017

'Thrilling, unnerving, clever and beautiful' Fredrik Backman

The year is 1793. Over a year has passed since the death of Gustav III of Sweden and the nation is ruled with an iron fist by lord of the realm Gustaf Adolf Reuterholm. In the wake of the old king's passing, trust has turned into a sparse commodity. Paranoia and whispered conspiracies can be found at every corner.

A mutilated body is discovered in the malodorous waters of Fatburen Lake on the island of Soedermalm. Missing both its legs and arms, the body has been disfigured beyond recognition. Though Cecil Winge of the Stockholm Police is himself marked for an early death by consumption, he takes on the case of solving the mystery of the Fatburen corpse. Cecil soon finds himself entangled in a web of dark secrets and boundless evil, a web with threads reaching all the way to the upper echelons of Stockholm society.

In his debut novel The Wolf and the Watchman, Niklas Natt och Dag paints a compelling portrait of late 18th century Stockholm, the frightful yet fascinating reality lurking behind the powdered and painted veneer of the era.


AUTHOR: Niklas Natt och Dag is a member of the oldest surviving noble family in Sweden. His ancestors were responsible for the murder of the rebel Engelbrekt in 1436, commanded the army that lost Stockholm to the Danes in 1520, and were forced into exile after having demanded the abdication of Charles XIV in 1810. His surname, Natt och Dag, translates into Night and Day. The origin of this slightly unusual name is the family crest, a shield split horizontally in gold and blue.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£11.64
(You save £1.35 )
Availability:
Not currently available.
SKU:
9781473682122
ISBN13:
9781473682122
Availability:
Not currently available.
Author:
Niklas Natt och Dag
Publisher:
John Murray Publishers Ltd
Publication:
07-Feb-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
416
Weight:
800 Grams
Bone China cover photo

Bone China [9781526602534]

The new historical chiller from the author of The Silent Companions and The Corset Consumption has ravaged Louise Pinecroft's family, leaving her and…

rrp: £12.99
£10.30
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Ice House cover photo

The Ice House [9781786894816]

War doesn't end. It sleeps. Delphine Venner is an old woman now. She is old, but she remembers everything. She remembers what it is to be a child of…

rrp: £14.99
£10.80
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Once cover photo

Once [9780141320632]

Once by Morris Gleitzman is the story of a young Jewish boy who is determined to escape the orphanage he lives in to save his Jewish parents from the …

rrp: £6.99
£5.80
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Wakenhyrst cover photo

Wakenhyrst [9781788549561]

Something has been let loose... In Edwardian Suffolk, a manor house stands alone in a lost corner of the Fens: a glinting wilderness of water whose w…

rrp: £14.99
£13.57
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Red Birds cover photo

Red Birds [9781408897188]

A powerful novel about war, family and love, from the bestselling, prize-winning author dubbed `Pakistan's brightest voice' (Guardian) An American pi…

rrp: £16.99
£12.60
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
After the Snow cover photo

After the Snow [9780008219635]

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown. 'A modern day Nancy Mitford.' - Sir Elton John 'Fans of Downton Abbey will love this.' - Davina McCa…

rrp: £12.99
£11.24
Not currently available.
Sorry For Your Trouble cover photo

Sorry For Your Trouble [9781526620026]

A woman and man, parted a quarter of a century, reunite in a bar in New Orleans as the St Patrick's Day parade goes by. A divorced suburban dad helps…

rrp: £16.99
£11.32
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.