This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Warlow Experiment [9781788161695]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

As heard on BBC Radio 4

'This is an extraordinary, quite brilliant book' - C. J. Sansom

What kind of person keeps a man underground for seven years? And who would agree to be part of such an experiment?

Herbert Powyss lives on a small estate in the Welsh Marches, with enough time and income to pursue a gentleman's fashionable cultivation of exotic plants and trees. But he longs to make his mark in the field of science - something consequential enough to present to the Royal Society in London.

He hits on a radical experiment in isolation: for seven years a subject will inhabit three rooms in the cellar of the manor house, fitted out with books, paintings and even a chamber organ. Meals will arrive thrice daily via a dumbwaiter.

The solitude will be totally unrelieved by any social contact; the subject will keep a diary of his daily thoughts and actions.

The pay? Fifty pounds per annum, for life.

Only one man is desperate enough to apply for the job: John Warlow, a semi-literate labourer with a wife and six children to provide for.

The experiment, a classic Enlightenment exercise gone more than a little mad, will have unforeseen consequences for all included.

In this seductive tale of self-delusion and obsession, Alix Nathan has created an utterly transporting historical novel which is both elegant and unforgettably sinister.


AUTHOR: Alix Nathan read English and Music at York University. She lives in the Welsh Marches where she owns some ancient woodland with her husband. Her short stories have been published in Ambit, The London Magazine, New Welsh Review and read on BBC Radio 4. Her last two books were published by Parthian Press.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£9.57
(You save £3.42 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781788161695
UPC:
9781788161695
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Alix Nathan
Publisher:
Profile Books Ltd
Publication:
04-Jul-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
288
Chart Position:
788
The Moon: A History for the Future cover photo

The Moon: A History for the Future [9781788162548]

A Radio 4 Book of the Week by The Economist's senior editor Every generation has looked up from the Earth and wondered at the beauty of the Moon. 50 …

rrp: £20.00
£11.71
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Colours of History: How Colours Shaped the World cover photo

The Colours of History: How Colours Shaped the World [9781784939670]

Winner of the Blue Peter Book Awards 2019 for Best Factual Book Why did Roman emperors wear purple? Which colour is made from crushed beetles? What g…

rrp: £10.99
£7.34
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
When We Were Young: A Novel cover photo

When We Were Young: A Novel [9781501170027]

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury comes a classic story about second chances, featuring the beloved Baxter family and a young …

rrp: £9.99
£8.99
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 25-Jul-2019
Secrets of Santorini: The perfect holiday read cover photo

Secrets of Santorini: The perfect holiday read [9781785768972]

If you love Victoria Hislop, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Edmondson, you'll love this perfect holiday read from the author of Islands of Secrets and Vi…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Woman in the Photograph cover photo

The Woman in the Photograph [9781785768965]

An empowering, feminist and moving novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Canno…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Widows' Revenge: From the bestselling author of Widows - now a major motion picture cover photo

Widows' Revenge: From the bestselling author of Widows - now a major motion picture [9781785768323]

The sequel to Lynda La Plante's groundbreaking thriller, Widows - now a major feature film. DOLLY, LINDA, SHIRLEY AND BELLA ARE BACK. AND THIS TIM…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Girl in the Woods cover photo

The Girl in the Woods [9781786894885]

I have to tell you something. I did something bad. Fifteen years ago, Blair's best friend Molly was murdered. Fifteen years ago, Adrian Jones …

rrp: £8.99
£7.17
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Sign of the Cross cover photo

Sign of the Cross [9781786894878]

Abruzzo, Italy: a young priest suffers the stigmata of the crucifixion. The Vatican, Rome: the Pope calls on Harvard professor Cal Donovan to inves…

rrp: £8.99
£7.17
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Apollo 11: The Inside Story cover photo

Apollo 11: The Inside Story [9781785785122]

Fifty years ago, in July 1969, Apollo 11 became the first manned mission to land on the Moon, and Neil Armstrong the first man to step on to its surfa…

rrp: £12.99
£8.42
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Big Sky cover photo

Big Sky [9780857526106]

The highly anticipated return of Jackson Brodie, ex-military, ex-Cambridge Constabulary, now private investigator, 'a hero for men and women alike' (T…

rrp: £20.00
£13.81
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.