This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Restless Girls [9781408886915]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

A dazzling, feminist reinterpretation of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, from the bestselling author of The Miniaturist and The Muse, beautifully illustrated by Angela Barrett.

The Restless Girls is the book that every little girl and boy needs to read, a fairytale about family, sisterhood, imagination and bravery.

'A magical modern retelling of an old fairytale... Exquisite' - JACQUELINE WILSON

'Wild, wise, generous, ferocious' - KATHERINE RUNDELL

For her twelve daughters, Queen Laurelia's death in a motor car accident is a disaster beyond losing a mother. Their father, King Alberto, cannot bear the idea of the princesses ever being in danger and decides his daughters must be kept safe at all costs. Those costs include their lessons, their possessions and, most importantly, their freedom.

But the eldest, Princess Frida, will not bend to his will without a fight and she still has one possession her father can't take: the power of her imagination. And so, with little but wits and ingenuity to rely on, Frida and her sisters begin their fight to be allowed to live.
AUTHOR: Jessie Burton was born in 1982 and went to school in south London. Her favourite subjects were story writing, sleeping and ice-cream eating. After studying at Oxford University she went on to the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama. She worked as an actress and a PA before her first novel, The Miniaturist, was published. The Miniaturist was translated into 38 languages and has sold over a million copies around the world. Her second novel, The Muse, was published in July 2016 and is also a no.1 bestseller. Angela Barrett studied at Maidstone College of Art and the Royal College of Art. She has taught Illustration at Cambridge College of Technology and Drawing at Chelsea College and is widely regarded as one of the UK's finest illustrators. She won the 1989 Smarties Book Prize for Can It Be True? and has been shortlisted three times for the Kurt Maschler Award and once for the Kate Greenaway Medal.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£9.68
(You save £5.31 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781408886915
UPC:
9781408886915
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Jessie Burton
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Publication:
27-Sep-2018
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
160
Chart Position:
1949
The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: The Untold Story of a Lost World cover photo

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: The Untold Story of a Lost World [9781509830060]

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs is a hugely ambitious and engrossing story of how dinosaurs rose to dominate the planet, written by one of the…

rrp: £20.00
£11.13
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Rise and Fall of the British Nation: A Twentieth-Century History cover photo

The Rise and Fall of the British Nation: A Twentieth-Century History [9781846147753]

From the acclaimed author of Britain's War Machine and The Shock of the Old, a bold reassessment of Britain's twentieth century. It is usual to see…

rrp: £30.00
£18.83
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve cover photo

The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve [9781847922724]

Humans cannot live without stories. But one story has proved itself the most durable and hauntingly real of all time. The mythic tale of Adam and …

rrp: £25.00
£13.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve cover photo

The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve [9780099587224]

Selected as a book of the year 2017 by The Times and Sunday Times What is it about Adam and Eve's story that fascinates us? What does it tell us ab…

rrp: £10.99
£8.47
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Road Less Travelled cover photo

The Road Less Travelled [9780099727408]

The Ten Million Copy BestsellerThe new psychology of love, traditional values and Spiritual growth. Confronting and solving problems is a painful proc…

rrp: £7.99
£6.47
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Restless Girls: Deluxe Slipcase Edition cover photo

The Restless Girls: Deluxe Slipcase Edition [9781408897539]

A stunning deluxe edition of Jessie Burton's dazzling feminist fairytale. Illustrated by Angela Barrett, this extra-special edition includes an exclus…

rrp: £29.99
£21.44
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Ravenmaster: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London cover photo

The Ravenmaster: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London [9780008307929]

The first behind-the-scenes account of life with the ravens at Britain's most famous national monument. For centuries, the Tower of London has been h…

rrp: £14.99
£10.66
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Reluctant Billionaire: The Tragic Life of Gerald Grosvenor, Sixth Duke of Westminster cover photo

The Reluctant Billionaire: The Tragic Life of Gerald Grosvenor, Sixth Duke of Westminster [9781785903168]

When Gerald Grosvenor, sixth Duke of Westminster, died in August 2016 he was one of the world's richest men, his fortune estimated at just under GBP10…

rrp: £20.00
£9.81
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Ritual: Now A Major Film Most Thrilling Chiller You'll Read This Year cover photo

The Ritual: Now A Major Film Most Thrilling Chiller You'll Read This Year [9781509883448]

From Britain's 'master of horror', Adam Nevill, comes The Ritual, winner of the August Derleth Award and perfect for fans of Stephen King. Now a major…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Resolution: A Novel of Captain Cook's Adventures of Discovery to Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii, Through the Eyes of George Forster Botanist on Board His Ship cover photo

The Resolution: A Novel of Captain Cook's Adventures of Discovery to Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii, Through the Eyes of George Forster Botanist on Board His Ship [9781782398301]

A. N. Wilson's powerful new novel explores the life and times of one of the greatest British explorers, Captain Cook, and the golden age of Britain's …

rrp: £8.99
£3.99
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.