This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Reluctant Billionaire: The Tragic Life of Gerald Grosvenor, Sixth Duke of Westminster [9781785903168]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

When Gerald Grosvenor, sixth Duke of Westminster, died in August 2016 he was one of the world's richest men, his fortune estimated at just under GBP10 billion. Yet he hated his wealth and spent long periods suffering from severe depression, much of it brought on by a feeling that his whole life had been a failure and that his money had destroyed any chance of happiness.

At the same time, he could be ruthless in running the business while often feeling he was only a mascot. Gerald Grosvenor came into the line of succession by mere chance - or 'rotten bad luck' as he put it. The third Duke was childless and the title passed to a cousin, who became fourth Duke in 1963 and then, when he died four years later, to his younger brother, Gerald's father, Robert Grosvenor, who lived on an island in Lough Erne where Gerald grew up.

Tom Quinn interviewed the sixth Duke on a number of occasions as well as people who knew the duke socially or had at various times worked with or for him. He discovered a complex man tortured by what he saw as his failures. He was a man who longed to return to his idyllic rural childhood yet was only really happy as an adult in the company of call girls.

The book looks at the long and often eccentric history of the Grosvenor family and its wealth and the complex means by which that wealth has been shielded from the taxman, as well as the bizarre life of a man who was that strangest of things: The Reluctant Billionaire.
AUTHOR: Tom Quinn is the author of Backstairs Billy: The Life of William Tallon, the Queen Mother's Most Devoted Servant and Mrs Keppel: Mistress to the King (both Biteback Publishing). He lives in London.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: €23.35
€12.70
(You save €10.65 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781785903168
ISBN13:
9781785903168
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Tom Quinn
Publisher:
Biteback Publishing
Publication:
07-Aug-2018
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
320
Weight:
510 Grams
The Red Ribbon cover photo

The Red Ribbon [9781471406287]

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla. In another life we might all have been friends together. But this was Birchwood. For fans of The Diary of Anne Frank a…

rrp: €12.83
€9.69
Not currently available.
The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve cover photo

The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve [9781847922724]

Humans cannot live without stories. But one story has proved itself the most durable and hauntingly real of all time. The mythic tale of Adam and …

rrp: €29.18
€20.99
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve cover photo

The Rise and Fall of Adam and Eve [9780099587224]

Selected as a book of the year 2017 by The Times and Sunday Times What is it about Adam and Eve's story that fascinates us? What does it tell us ab…

rrp: €12.83
€10.80
Not currently available.
The Restless Girls cover photo

The Restless Girls [9781408886915]

A dazzling, feminist reinterpretation of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, from the bestselling author of The Miniaturist and The Muse, beautifully illus…

rrp: €17.50
€11.42
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: The Untold Story of a Lost World cover photo

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: The Untold Story of a Lost World [9781509830060]

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs is a hugely ambitious and engrossing story of how dinosaurs rose to dominate the planet, written by one of the…

rrp: €23.35
€15.85
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Ritual: Now A Major Film Most Thrilling Chiller You'll Read This Year cover photo

The Ritual: Now A Major Film Most Thrilling Chiller You'll Read This Year [9781509883448]

From Britain's 'master of horror', Adam Nevill, comes The Ritual, winner of the August Derleth Award and perfect for fans of Stephen King. Now a major…

rrp: €10.49
€10.33
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Resolution: A Novel of Captain Cook's Adventures of Discovery to Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii, Through the Eyes of George Forster Botanist on Board His Ship cover photo

The Resolution: A Novel of Captain Cook's Adventures of Discovery to Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii, Through the Eyes of George Forster Botanist on Board His Ship [9781782398301]

A. N. Wilson's powerful new novel explores the life and times of one of the greatest British explorers, Captain Cook, and the golden age of Britain's …

rrp: €10.49
€8.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Road Less Travelled cover photo

The Road Less Travelled [9780099727408]

The Ten Million Copy BestsellerThe new psychology of love, traditional values and Spiritual growth. Confronting and solving problems is a painful proc…

rrp: €11.66
€8.95
Not currently available.
The Race to Save the Romanovs: The Truth Behind the Secret Plans to Rescue Russia's Imperial Family cover photo

The Race to Save the Romanovs: The Truth Behind the Secret Plans to Rescue Russia's Imperial Family [9781786331045]

A major new work of investigative history that will completely change the way we see the Romanov story. Finally, here is the truth about the secret …

rrp: €29.18
€24.12
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Rather His Own Man: In Court with Tyrants, Tarts and Troublemakers: 2018 cover photo

Rather His Own Man: In Court with Tyrants, Tarts and Troublemakers: 2018 [9781785903977]

Geoffrey Robertson led students in the '60s to demand an end to racism and censorship. He went on to become a top human rights advocate, saving the li…

rrp: €29.18
€17.89
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days