Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £20.00
£17.26
(You save £2.74 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List

The Postmistress of Paris: A Novel [9780062946980]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

The New York Times bestselling author of The Last Train to London revisits the dark early days of the German occupation in France in this haunting novel-a love story and a tale of high-stakes danger and incomparable courage-about a young American heiress who helps artists hunted by the Nazis escape from war-torn Europe.

Wealthy, beautiful Nanee was born with a spirit of adventure that transcends her Midwestern roots. For her, learning to fly is freedom. When German tanks roll across the border and into Paris, this woman with an adorable dog and a generous heart joins the resistance. Known as the Postmistress because she delivers information to those in hiding, Nanee uses her charms and skill to house the hunted and deliver them to safety.

Inspired by the real life Chicago heiress Mary Jayne Gold, who worked with American journalist Varian Fry to smuggle artists and intellectuals out of France, Meg Waite Clayton has fashioned a sweeping tale of romance and danger, set in a world aflame with personal and political passion. The Postmistress of Paris is the haunting story of an indomitable woman whose strength, bravery, and love is a beacon of hope in a time of terror.


AUTHOR: Meg Waite Clayton is a New York Times bestselling author of six novels, most recently Beautiful Exiles. Her previous novels include the Langum Prize--honored The Race for Paris; The Language of Light, a finalist for the Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction (now the PEN/Bellwether); and The Wednesday Sisters, one of Entertainment Weekly's 25 Essential Best Friend Novels of all time. She has also written for the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Washington Post, Forbes, and public radio, often on the subject of the particular challenges women face.
more
less
SKU:
9780062946980
ISBN13:
9780062946980
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Author:
Meg Waite Clayton
Publisher:
Harper
Publication:
17-Feb-2022
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
416
Stock Status:
Available to order
Weight:
562 Grams
The Royal Game cover photo

The Royal Game [9780008422844]

The spellbinding new historical novel from the Sunday Times bestseller Anne O'Brien. The inspirational story of the Pastons, a …

rrp: £20.00
£17.26
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
The Last Beekeeper cover photo

The Last Beekeeper [9780008472887]

Don't miss one of the most exciting debuts of 2021... Perfect for fans of Khaled Hosseini, Yann Martel, and Monique Roffey. '…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Her Wartime Secret cover photo

Her Wartime Secret [9780552178099]

**PRE-ORDER NOW!**The first brilliant WWII novel by Emma Hornby, bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife------------Bolton, Lancashire: 1940A fami…

rrp: £6.99
£6.57
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days