This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Mistake: An unputdownable psychological thriller with a brilliant twist [9780751574937]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything . . .

Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later, he is found dead. Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother?

Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, who she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him... and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.

Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger...

'Brilliant, very clever . . . I absolutely recommend it' B.A. Paris on BLINK

From the top ten bestselling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me, The Mistake is a must-read for anyone looking for their next unputdownable thriller. Perfect for fans of The Wife Between Us, B.A. Paris and Louise Jensen.

What readers are saying about The Mistake:

'Oh. My. Goodness. What a book! I have read other books by this author and have enjoyed them, but this is the best one yet!' Stardust Book Reviews

'WOW! What an incredible book... A roller coaster of a ride. My first book by this author but it won't be my last.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'K L Slater has written another amazing book that kept me guessing right until the very end. Then shocked me with the end of the book.' We've Licked That Book Blog, 5 stars

'I have gobbled up every book by this author but in my opinion this is definitely her best yet.' Angela Marsons

'The Mistake is one of my favourite books this year... Written so well - 5 STARS! RECOMMEND!You won't know who dunnit till the end!!!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Had me gripped from start to finish.' Nigel Adams Bookworm

'An unputdownable thriller, and as always K.L. Slater keeps you glued to the pages... she is the queen of killer twists.' JDC Must Read Books, 5 stars


AUTHOR:

Kim is the bestselling author of psychological crime thrillers Safe With Me, Blink, Liar, The Mistake, The Visitor and The Secret.

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents and collected a stack of rejection slips. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating in 2012, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, 'a fairy tale . . . at the end of a very long road!'

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.

She also writes award-winning YA fiction for Macmillan Children's Books, writing as Kim Slater.

Author website: www.KLSlaterAuthor.com
Twitter: @KimLSlater
Facebook: KL Slater Author

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £7.99
£7.59
(You save £0.40 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780751574937
UPC:
9780751574937
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
K. L. Slater
Publisher:
Sphere
Publication:
04-Apr-2019
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
368
She Lies in the Vines: The gripping thriller about our obsession with true crime cover photo

She Lies in the Vines: The gripping thriller about our obsession with true crime [9781529353280]

PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE DRY AND MAKING A MURDERER'Outstanding . . . an absorbing thriller told with heart and wit. Morality and ambition clash on a jo…

rrp: £8.99
£8.09
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 05-Sep-2019
Missing Person: The unputdownable new thriller from the author of The Three cover photo

Missing Person: The unputdownable new thriller from the author of The Three [9781473624627]

'The finest thriller I've read in years . . . completely unputdownable' - Sunday Times bestselling author Sarah Pinborough on The Three Missing-linc.c…

rrp: £17.99
£15.24
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 05-Sep-2019
A Small Town in Germany cover photo

A Small Town in Germany [9780241337196]

West Germany in the 1960s is a simmering cauldron of radical protests. Amid the turmoil Leo Harting, a Second Secretary in the British Embassy, has go…

rrp: £14.99
£11.36
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 05-Sep-2019
Lock Every Door cover photo

Lock Every Door [9781529104400]

You've been offered a luxury apartment, rent free. The catch: you may not live long enough to enjoy it... No visitors. No nights spent away from th…

rrp: £14.99
£13.29
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 25-Jul-2019
Zero cover photo

Zero [9781784163488]

The bestselling European thriller that foretold the danger and criminality of social media, now available in English. A Guardian thriller of the mo…

rrp: £8.99
£7.60
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Quicksand cover photo

Quicksand [9781471185373]

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX SERIESWe Need to Talk About Kevin meets The Secret History. The air is hazy and grey with gunpowder smoke. Everyone has been shot…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Silver Road cover photo

The Silver Road [9781786497338]

Even the darkest journey must come to an end...'Haunting, intoxicating' Ali Land, author of Good Me, Bad Me'Deeply affecting' Chris Whitaker, author o…

rrp: £7.99
£7.19
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 05-Sep-2019
Someone Knows cover photo

Someone Knows [9781472243140]

'Lisa Scottoline is one of the very best writers at work today' Michael Connelly'Heart-pounding' Lisa GardnerTwenty years ago four teenagers spent a b…

rrp: £8.99
£8.09
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 07-Nov-2019
Someone We Know cover photo

Someone We Know [9781787632134]

The gripping new thriller from the No. 1 bestselling author of The Couple Next Door. ****** It can be hard keeping secrets in a tight-knit neigh…

rrp: £12.99
£10.18
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 25-Jul-2019