This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Mars Room [9781910702673]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018, AND THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

'Kushner is one of our most outstanding modern writers.' - STYLIST

'More knowing about prison life [than Orange Is The New Black]... so powerful.' - NEW YORK TIMES

'Breathtaking.' - VOGUE

Romy Hall is at the start of two consecutive life sentences, plus six years, at Stanville Women's Correctional Facility. Outside is the world from which she has been permanently severed: the San Francisco of her youth, changed almost beyond recognition. The Mars Room strip club where she once gave lap dances for a living. And her seven-year-old son, Jackson, now in the care of Romy's estranged mother.

Inside is a new reality to adapt to: thousands of women hustling for the bare essentials needed to survive. The deadpan absurdities of institutional living, which Kushner details with humour and precision. Daily acts of violence by guards and prisoners alike. Allegiances formed over liquor brewed in socks, and stories shared through sewage pipes. Romy sees the future stretch out ahead of her in a long, unwavering line - until news from outside brings a ferocious urgency to her existence, challenging her to escape her own destiny and culminating in a climax of almost unbearable intensity.

Through Romy - and through a cast of astonishing characters populating The Mars Room - Rachel Kushner presents not just a bold and unsentimental panorama of life on the margins of contemporary America, but an excoriating attack on the prison-industrial complex.

AUTHOR: Rachel Kushner's debut novel, Telex from Cuba, was a finalist for the 2008 National Book Award and a New York Times bestseller. Her follow-up novel, The Flamethrowers, was also a finalist for the National Book Award and received rave reviews on both sides of the Atlantic. Her fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, Harper's and the Paris Review. She lives in Los Angeles.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £16.99
£12.26
(You save £4.73 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781910702673
ISBN13:
9781910702673
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Rachel Kushner
Publisher:
Jonathan Cape Ltd
Publication:
07-Jun-2018
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
352
Weight:
594 Grams
The Overstory cover photo

The Overstory [9781785151637]

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018 'It's not possible for Powers to write an uninteresting book' - Margaret Atwood A monumental novel about …

rrp: £18.99
£13.29
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Everything Under cover photo

Everything Under [9781910702345]

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018 Words are important to Gretel, always have been. As a child, she lived on a canal boat with her mother, and…

rrp: £14.99
£6.55
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Long Take cover photo

The Long Take [9781509886258]

WINNER OF THE WALTER SCOTT PRIZE FOR HISTORICAL FICTION 2019   SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018 A noir narrative written wit…

rrp: £9.99
£9.52
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Snap: `The best crime novel I've read in a very long time' Val McDermid cover photo

Snap: `The best crime novel I've read in a very long time' Val McDermid [9780593075531]

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2018. As heard on BBC Radio 4 Front Row 'The best crime novel I've…

rrp: £12.99
£8.81
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Water Cure cover photo

The Water Cure [9780241334744]

Hypnotic, dreamlike and compulsive, a blazing literary debut for fans of Hot Milk, The Girls andThe Vegetarian 'Immensely assured, calmly devastating.…

rrp: £12.99
£10.19
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Warlight cover photo

Warlight [9781787330719]

By the author of The English Patient In a narrative as mysterious as memory itself - at once both shadowed and luminous - Warlight is a vivid, thrill…

rrp: £16.99
£12.26
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Long Take cover photo

The Long Take [9781509846887]

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018 A noir narrative written with the intensity and power of poetry, The Long Take is one of the most remarkabl…

rrp: £14.99
£11.40
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Milkman cover photo

Milkman [9780571338757]

WINNER OF THE ORWELL PRIZE 2019 WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018 Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019 In this unnamed city, to be …

rrp: £8.99
£5.88
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Mayor of Casterbridge cover photo

The Mayor of Casterbridge [9780241347775]

Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectibl…

rrp: £14.99
£10.70
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Memory Illusion: Remembering, Forgetting, and the Science of False Memory cover photo

The Memory Illusion: Remembering, Forgetting, and the Science of False Memory [9781847947611]

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER 'Truly fascinating' - Steve Wright, BBC Radio 2 Have you ever forgotten the name of someone you've met dozens of times? …

rrp: £9.99
£7.57
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.