Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£12.28
(You save £0.71 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List

The Lost Ones [9780008341220]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Some houses are never at peace.

England, 1917

Reeling from the death of her fiance, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side...

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spell-binding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

Praise for The Lost Ones

'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings

'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox

'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps...' Lisa Hall

'If you liked A Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' WOMAN&HOME

'My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

'An assured debut novel combining two well-loved literary genres set in country houses: the haunted house and the Agatha Christie-style whodunnit. Anita Frank's fiendishly devised plot springs a succession of shocks and revelations that keep you gripped until the final page' Noel O'Reilly


AUTHOR:

Anita Frank was born in Shropshire and studied English and American History at the University of East Anglia. She lives in Berkshire with her husband and three children and is now a full-time carer for her disabled son. This is her first novel.

more
less
SKU:
9780008341220
ISBN13:
9780008341220
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Author:
Anita Frank
Publisher:
HQ
Publication:
31-Oct-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
464
Stock Status:
Available to order
Weight:
560 Grams
Based on a True Story cover photo

Based on a True Story [9781408878804]

What would you do if your closest friend tried to steal your life? 'Combining the allure of Gone Girl with the sophistication of literary fiction, Ba…

rrp: £12.99
£10.40
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The City of Tears [9781509806874]

The City of Tears [9781509806874]

Following on from the Sunday Times number one bestseller, The Burning Chambers, Kate Mosse's The City of Tears is the second thrilling historical epic…

rrp: £20.00
£13.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
In the Days of Rain: Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Biography Award cover photo

In the Days of Rain [9780008209193]

WINNER OF THE 2017 COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD 'A powerful, almost luminous book. I felt informed, engaged, uplifted and enriched by it' - Cathy Rentzenbri…

rrp: £9.99
£9.39
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Before She Knew Him cover photo

Before She Knew Him [9780571340644]

'They had a secret, the two of them, and there was no better way to start a friendship than with a secret.' When Hen and Lloyd move into their new ho…

rrp: £12.99
£11.06
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Five Feet Apart cover photo

Five Feet Apart [9781471182310]

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson in March 2019!In this moving story that's perfect for fans of John Gre…

rrp: £7.99
£7.13
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Milk and Honey cover photo

Milk and Honey [9781449474256]

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose; deals with a different pain; heals a different heartache. milk an…

rrp: £9.99
£6.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Tidelands cover photo

Tidelands [9781471172724]

THE BRAND NEW SERIES FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR England 1648. A dangerous time for a woman to be different . . . Midsummer's …

rrp: £20.00
£16.08
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days