This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Lay of Aotrou and Itroun [9780008202132]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Set 'In Britain's land beyond the seas' during the Age of Chivalry, The Lay of Aotrou and Itroun tells of a childless Breton Lord and Lady (the 'Aotrou' and 'Itroun' of the title) and the tragedy that befalls them when Aotrou seeks to remedy their situation with the aid of a magic potion obtained from a corrigan, or malevolent fairy. When the potion succeeds and Itroun bears twins, the corrigan returns seeking her fee, and Aotrou is forced to choose between betraying his marriage and losing his life.

Coming from the darker side of J.R.R. Tolkien's imagination, The Lay of Aotrou and Itroun, together with the two shorter 'Corrigan' poems that lead up to it and which are also included, was the outcome of a comparatively short but intense period in Tolkien's life when he was deeply engaged with Celtic, and particularly Breton, myth and legend.

Originally written in 1930 and long out of print, this early but seminal work is an important addition to the non-Middle-earth portion of his canon and should be set alongside Tolkien's other retellings of myth and legend, The Legend of Sigurd and GudrunThe Fall of Arthur and The Story of Kullervo. Like these works, it belongs to a small but important corpus of his ventures into 'real-world' mythologies, each of which in its own way would be a formative influence on his own legendarium.


AUTHOR: J.R.R.Tolkien (1892-1973) was a distinguished academic, though he is best known for writing The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion, plus other stories and essays. His books have been translated into over 60 languages and have sold many millions of copies worldwide.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £16.99
£13.60
(You save £3.39 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780008202132
ISBN13:
9780008202132
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
J. R. R. Tolkien
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Publication:
03-Nov-2016
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
128
Weight:
290 Grams
The Last Straw cover photo

The Last Straw [9780141324920]

The third laugh-out-loud book in the bestselling phenomenon that is the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. Greg's dad, Frank, is on a mission - a mission to…

rrp: £6.99
£6.00
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Last Tudor Cover Image

The Last Tudor [9781471133053]

'Bitterly, I think that Elizabeth does not want cousins, she does not want heirs, she wants all her relations to be as dead as her mother. But she doe…

rrp: £20.00
£18.80
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Last Secret of the Deverills cover photo

The Last Secret of the Deverills [9781471135927]

Be swept away with beloved bestselling author Santa Montefiore and the dramatic conclusion to the Deverill Chronicles It is 1939 and peace has flouri…

rrp: £14.99
£14.09
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The LEGO Batman Movie Essential Guide cover photo

The LEGO Batman Movie Essential Guide [9780241279496]

Go behind the scenes and discover everything there is to know about The LEGO(R) Batman(TM) Movie with this ultimate guide. Featuring the latest LEGO(R…

rrp: £9.99
£3.49
Not currently available.
The Lake House cover photo

The Lake House [9781447200864]

The Lake House by Kate Morton is the mysterious and enchanting fifth novel from the number one bestselling author of The House at Riverton and The Sec…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How Your Students Learn More When You Teach Less cover photo

The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How Your Students Learn More When You Teach Less [9781781352687]

It's more than six years since the bestselling Lazy Teacher's Handbook was first published and Jim Smith's Lazy Teaching philosophy has developed sign…

rrp: £18.99
£17.25
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Life-changing Magic of Tidying: A Simple, Effective Way to Banish Clutter Forever cover photo

The Life-changing Magic of Tidying: A Simple, Effective Way to Banish Clutter Forever [9780091955106]

Transform your home into a permanently clear and clutter-free space with the incredible KonMari Method. Japan's expert declutterer and professional c…

rrp: £12.99
£9.07
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Ladybird Book of the Zombie Apocalypse cover photo

The Ladybird Book of the Zombie Apocalypse [9780718184452]

Some people say civilisation after a zombie apocalypse will go back to The Stone Age. Nobody tidies up or collects the bins. The electricity keeps go…

rrp: £6.99
£6.00
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Beren and Luthien cover photo

Beren and Luthien [9780008214197]

The tale of Beren and Luthien was, or became, an essential element in the evolution of The Silmarillion, the myths and legends of the First Age o…

rrp: £20.00
£16.87
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Last Star cover photo

The Last Star [9780141345949]

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Gam…

rrp: £7.99
£7.79
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days