This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

The Devil and the Dark Water [9781408889640]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

The extraordinary new novel from Stuart Turton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award.

Praise for The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle: 'Turton has astonishing ambition and narrative skill to match' Daily Telegraph

'Fiendishly clever' The Times

'Prepare to have your brain fried and your mind blown' Daily Express

A murder on the high seas. A remarkable detective duo. A demon who may or may not exist.

It's 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world's greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent. But no sooner are they out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage.

A twice-dead leper stalks the decks. Strange symbols appear on the sails. Livestock is slaughtered. And then three passengers are marked for death, including Samuel. Could a demon be responsible for their misfortunes?

With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent can solve a mystery that connects every passenger. A mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board...
AUTHOR: Stuart Turton's debut novel, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, won the 2019 Costa First Novel Award and the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Best Novel, and was shortlisted for the Specsavers National Book Awards and the British Book Awards Debut of the Year. A Sunday Times bestseller for three weeks, it has been translated into over thirty languages and has also been a bestseller in Italy, Russia and Poland. Stuart lives near London with his wife and daughter. @Stu_Turton

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £16.99
£12.78
(You save £4.21 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781408889640
ISBN13:
9781408889640
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Stuart Turton
Publisher:
Raven Books
Publication:
01-Oct-2020
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
576
Chart Position:
165
Weight:
992 Grams
Platform Seven cover photo

Platform Seven [9780571321940]

The new novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Louise Doughty Platform Seven at 4am: Peterborough Railway Station is deserted. The man crossing …

rrp: £14.99
£10.74
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Winter of the Witch cover photo

The Winter of the Witch [9781785039737]

A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's Hi…

rrp: £8.99
£7.31
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Maul and the Pear Tree: The Ratcliffe Highway Murders 1811 cover photo

The Maul and the Pear Tree: The Ratcliffe Highway Murders 1811 [9780571258086]

In 1811 John Williams was buried with a stake in his heart. Was he the notorious East End killer or his eighth victim in the bizarre and shocking Ratc…

rrp: £9.99
£7.91
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Devolution cover photo

Devolution [9781529124095]

FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF WORLD WAR Z  As the ash and chaos from Mount Rainier's eruption swirled and finally settled, the story of the …

rrp: £12.99
£9.45
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Lost Witch cover photo

The Lost Witch [9781783446902]

Bea has started to hear and see things that no one else can - creatures, voices, visions. Then strangers visit Bea and tell her she is different: she …

rrp: £12.99
£8.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Hunted cover photo

The Hunted [9780571358663]

Frank owns a service station on a little-used highway. His granddaughter, Allie, is sent to stay with him for the summer, but they don't talk a lot. …

rrp: £8.99
£6.66
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Wild Unknown Animal Spirit Deck and Guidebook (Official Keepsake Box Set) cover photo

The Wild Unknown Animal Spirit Deck and Guidebook (Official Keepsake Box Set) [9780062742865]

Designed by Kim Krans Large Keepsake Box with Lifting Ribbon 63 Full-Colour Cards in Elegant Compact Box Illustrated, hand-lettered 208 Page Guidebook…

rrp: £30.00
£18.41
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Living Dead cover photo

The Living Dead [9781787633919]

It begins with one body. A pair of medical examiners find themselves facing a dead man who won't stay dead. It spreads quickly. In a Midwestern trail…

rrp: £20.00
£13.53
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Haunting of Alma Fielding: A True Ghost Story cover photo

The Haunting of Alma Fielding: A True Ghost Story [9781408895450]

'A page-turner with the authority of history' PHILIPPA GREGORY 'As gripping as a novel. An engaging, unsettling, deeply satisfying read' SARAH WATER…

rrp: £18.99
£10.62
Add to Cart
Awaiting stock.
Snow cover photo

Snow [9780571362677]

'The body is in the library,' Colonel Osborne said. 'Come this way.' Following the discovery of the corpse of a highly respected parish priest at B…

rrp: £14.99
£11.40
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.