This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Spectacles [9781405918558]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

When I began writing this book, I went home to see if my mum had kept some of my old stuff. What I found was that she hadn't kept some of it. She had kept all of it - every bus ticket, postcard, school report - from the moment I was born to the moment I finally had the confidence to turn around and say 'Why is our house full of this sh*t?' Sadly a recycling 'incident' destroyed the bulk of this archive and left me with no choice but to actually write this thing myself. Most of it is true. I have of course, amplified my more positive characteristics in an effort to make you like me.

'Very funny... It seems there are two Sue Perkins: the TV one, who gabbles and pratfalls, and the sensitive one who aches. They can both write. The first writes comedy, the second tragedy; in this sense, reading her memoir is very like meeting her' - Sunday Times

'As charming and funny as Perkins herself. Like going for a long, slightly drunken lunch with your naughtiest friend' - Red

'Life, love and loss - it's all here. Warm, crisp and beautifully layered - like its author, Spectacles is a complete delight. Edging into the territory of National Treasure' - Independent on Sunday


AUTHOR: Sue Perkins is perhaps best known for being one quarter of double act Mel and Sue, where she plays the part of Mel. Together, the pair have bounced, shouted and gurned their way through countless hours of television, most memorably Light Lunch and its later counterpart, the imaginatively titled Late Lunch. Over the years, Sue has worked on a wide range of solo projects, including documentaries on art, popular fiction and history. In 2008 she appeared on the BBC show Maestro, culminating in her conducting at the Last Night of the Proms. She has also collaborated with food-critic Giles Coren on the Supersizers series, where the duo power-ate their way through five centuries of lungs, livers and testicles whilst half-cut on sherry. In the last couple of years, Sue has travelled extensively throughout Asia, driving the Ho Chi Minh Trail, exploring the length of the Mekong River and getting felt up by a Cambodian hermit.She is a regular contributor to Have I Got News For You, Just a Minute, QI and The News Quiz and has been crowned, officially, the World's Greatest Liar, in a hard-fought contest in Cumbria. She is also the main presenter of Game of Thrones companion after show, Thronecast.Oh, and apparently she did some hugely successful cake show on BBC1!
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£9.27
(You save £0.72 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781405918558
ISBN13:
9781405918558
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
Sue Perkins
Publisher:
Penguin Books Ltd
Publication:
28-Jul-2016
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
464
Weight:
336 Grams
Flight of a Starling cover photo

Flight of a Starling [9781405285902]

The stunning new novel from award-shortlisted Lisa Heathfield, author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven's All the Brig…

rrp: £7.99
£7.32
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
How Not to Disappear cover photo

How Not to Disappear [9781471120312]

Our memories are what make us who we are. Some are real. Some are made up. But they are the stories that tell us who we are. Without them we are nobod…

rrp: £7.99
£7.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Home cover photo

Home [9781406365795]

The picture book debut of Carson Ellis, acclaimed illustrator of the Wildwood series and Lemony Snicket's The Composer is Dead, this is a gorgeous, im…

rrp: £7.99
£7.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Monster Calls cover photo

A Monster Calls [9781406361803]

The bestselling novel about love, loss and hope from the twice Carnegie Medal-winning Patrick Ness, soon to be a major motion picture. Conor has the s…

rrp: £7.99
£7.33
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Monster Calls cover photo

A Monster Calls [9781406339345]

The monster showed up just after midnight. As they do. But it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting. He's been expecting the one from his nightmare…

rrp: £9.99
£9.07
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Power cover photo

The Power [9780670919963]

WINNER of the 2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction What if the power to hurt were in women's hands? Suddenly - tomorrow or the day after - teenage g…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Mad Girl cover photo

Mad Girl [9781472232090]

THE NUMBER 1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER AND RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 PICK A new Sunday Times bestseller from Bryony Gordon, Telegraph columnist and…

rrp: £9.99
£9.33
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days