This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Shuggie Bain [9781529019278] BOOKER PRIZEWINNER 2020

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

** WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 **

It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life. She dreams of greater things: a house with its own front door and a life bought and paid for outright (like her perfect, but false, teeth).

But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and soon she and her three children find themselves trapped in a decimated mining town.

As she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves. It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest.

Shuggie is different. Fastidious and fussy, he shares his mother's sense of snobbish propriety. The miners' children pick on him and adults condemn him as no' right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Douglas Stuart's Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. A counterpart to the privileged Thatcher-era London of Alan Hollinghurst's The Line of Beauty, it also recalls the work of Edouard Louis, Frank McCourt, and Hanya Yanagihara, it is a blistering debut by a brilliant novelist with a powerful and important story to tell.


AUTHOR: Douglas Stuart was born and raised in Glasgow. After graduating from the Royal College of Art in London, he moved to New York, where he began a career in fashion design. Shuggie Bain is his first novel.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£13.32
(You save £1.67 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781529019278
ISBN13:
9781529019278
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Douglas Stuart
Publisher:
Picador
Publication:
25-Nov-2020
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
448
Chart Position:
617
Weight:
670 Grams
The New Wilderness: LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 cover photo

The New Wilderness: SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 [9781786078216]

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 Bea's five-year-old daughter, Agnes, is slowly wasting away. The smog and pollution of the overdeveloped, overp…

rrp: £16.99
£11.40
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Shadow King cover photo

The Shadow King [9781838851170] SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 ETHIOPIA. 1935. With the threat of Mussolini's army looming, recently orphaned Hirut struggles to adapt t…

rrp: £9.99
£6.85
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Burnt Sugar cover photo

Burnt Sugar [9780241441510] SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Deborah Levy, Jenny Off…

rrp: £14.99
£10.17
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Real Life cover photo

Real Life [9781911547747]

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 BOOKER PRIZE A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS' CHOICE A GUARDIAN SUMMER READING CHOICE Wallace has spent his summer in the lab bre…

rrp: £9.99
£7.97
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
This Mournable Body cover photo

This Mournable Body [9780571355518] SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 In this tense and psychologically charged novel, Tsitsi Dangarembga channels the hope and potential of one youn…

rrp: £14.99
£11.56
Temporarily Unavailable.
This Mournable Body: Longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize cover photo

This Mournable Body: Shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize [9780571355525]

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 BOOKER PRIZE 'As natural as the grass grows.' - Chinua Achebe '[Dangarembga] is a wonderful creator of character.' - Dori…

rrp: £8.99
£6.85
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Promised Land cover photo

A Promised Land [9780241491515]

A riveting, deeply personal account of history in the making-from the president who inspired us to believe in the power of democracy In the stirring,…

rrp: £35.00
£21.99
Temporarily Unavailable.
The Midnight Library cover photo

The Midnight Library [9781786892706]

As featured on BBC TV's Between the Covers Between life and death there is a library. When Nora Seed finds herself in the Midnight Library, she has …

rrp: £16.99
£10.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Vesper Flights cover photo

Vesper Flights [9780224097017]

** A GREAT READ'S BOOK OF THE MONTH **  ** A BBC RADIO 4 BOOK OF THE WEEK ** Animals don't exist to teach us things, but that is what they …

rrp: £16.99
£11.58
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Hamnet cover photo

Hamnet [9781472223791]

** WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2020 ** A stunning new departure for Maggie O'Farrell's fiction - the heart-stopping story behind Shakespe…

rrp: £20.00
£12.73
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.