This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Sherbet and Spice, A: The Complete Story of Turkish Sweets and Desserts [9781848858985]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
The stories behind Turkey's huge variety of sweets and puddings are as fascinating as their multiplicity of flavours. This riveting exploration of their history and role in Turkish culture is a voyage of adventure, taking us from the sultan's palace to the homes of ordinary people in Turkey's villages and towns, and beyond to Central Asia, Persia, Arabia, Egypt and the Levant. This is the land of Turkish delight perfumed with rosewater and musk, rose jam, whose praises were sung by Rumi, asure, zerde tinted with saffron, baklava filled with nuts, clotted cream or cheese, milk puddings and helvas, strings of nuts dipped in grape syrup, lollipops in the shape of animals and model gardens built of sugar carried in wedding processions. The first study of Turkish confectionery ever to be published, Sherbet and Spice offers a rare look at the evolution of sweets from the non-European angle, based on many Turkish sources little known outside Turkey that lend a new dimension to the subject.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £20.00
£15.66
(You save £4.34 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781848858985
UPC:
9781848858985
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Mary Isin
Publisher:
I.B. Tauris
Publication:
07-Nov-2012
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
336
Ship: A History in Art & Photography cover photo

Ship: A History in Art & Photography [9781844860760]

Ship brings together 360 of the most celebrated ships in history and fiction in one stylishly produced volume. Each has its unique tale to tell, the d…

rrp: £30.00
£20.25
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Sherrie Levine: After All cover photo

Sherrie Levine: After All [9783777428024]

The American artist Sherrie Levine realises in her works the artistic praxis of appropriating, repeating and varying famous earlier artworks. At th…

rrp: £49.95
£41.17
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Ship cover photo

Ship [9780241298046]

From the earliest dugout canoes and the boats of the Ancient Egyptians, to the most technologically advanced modern battleships and cruise-liners, thi…

rrp: £19.99
£13.17
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Sheriff Updown Turns the Bad Guys Good: A Cosmic Kids Yoga Adventure cover photo

Sheriff Updown Turns the Bad Guys Good: A Cosmic Kids Yoga Adventure [9781780289588]

Gallop off to Buffalo Creek with Sheriff Updown for a whole heap of Wild West yoga fun and discover calming yoga through a story that teaches kids abo…

rrp: £8.99
£7.17
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan Doyle Adventures Volume 1 cover photo

Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan Doyle Adventures Volume 1 [9781785942440]

'My name is Sherlock Holmes. It is my business to know what other people don't know.' In this unique collection, Sherlock co-creators Steven Moffat an…

rrp: £7.99
£6.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days

Showboat: The Life of Kobe Bryant [9781474603232]

The definitive biography of global superstar and basketball icon Kobe Bryant Bryant is one of basketball's greatest-ever players, a fascinating and c…

rrp: £18.99
£15.23
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days

Shigeru Ban [9780934324649]

Architects are not building temporary housing because we are too busy building for the privileged people.... I'm not saying I'm against building monum…

rrp: £40.00
£25.87
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Shift cover photo

Shift [9781405282888]

Mean Girls meets Gone Girl - a gripping, dark, psychological thriller for YA readers, perfect for fans of We Were Liars. There were two things everyon…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Shhh!: Lift-The-Flap Book cover photo

Shhh!: Lift-The-Flap Book [9780340746622]

Shhh! You are about to enter a giant's castle. Can you get through the book without waking up the enormous scary giant? What will you do if he wakes…

rrp: £6.99
£6.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Sherlock: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes cover photo

Sherlock: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes [9781849904063]

The hit BBC series Sherlock, starring Benedict Cumberbatch, offers a fresh, contemporary take on the original Sir Arthur Conan Doyle stories, and has …

rrp: £7.99
£7.60
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days