This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Shell [9781471172632]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
'The day the great man sang, heat blazed in haloes over Bennelong Point. This is what Pearl will remember, later, this is what she will say: that his voice turned the air holy. Men, sweat-slicked, stood with bowed heads or hung off scaffolds, swatting at flies and tears. Few looked at the singer; they needed all their senses to hear. Needed their whole bodies, skin and eyes and hearts, to absorb what they couldn't say: that sacredness had returned to this place. It flowed through them on a single human voice, through their bodies and the building that was rising beneath their hands.'

`This narrative of war and hope, architecture and yearning, and old and new world, makes Shell a novel of energy and enlightenment, and, to boot, a source of delightful reading' Thomas Keneally, author of Schindler's List and In the Name of the Father

Sydney, 1960s: newspaper reporter Pearl Keogh has been relegated to the women's pages as punishment for her involvement in the anti-war movement, and is desperate to find her two young brothers before they are conscripted.

Newly arrived from Sweden, Axel Lindquist is set to work as a sculptor on the Sydney Opera House. Haunted by his father's acts in the Second World War, he seeks solace in his attempts to create a unique piece that will do justice to the vision of Jorn Utzon, the controversial architect of the Opera House's construction.

Pearl and Axel's lives orbit and collide, as they both struggle in the eye of the storm. This is a soaring, optimistic novel of art and culture, and of love and fate.

A beautifully crafted, spellbinding story of love, loss and identity, set in the shadow of the Vietnam War, for readers who loved All the Light We Cannot See and The Goldfinch.
AUTHOR: Kristina Olsson is a journalist and the award-winning author of In One Skin and The China Garden, and two works of non-fiction, Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir and Kilroy was Here. She lives in Brisbane.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£12.21
(You save £0.78 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781471172632
ISBN13:
9781471172632
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Author:
Kristina Olsson
Publisher:
Scribner UK
Publication:
04-Oct-2018
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
384
Weight:
400 Grams
Shell cover photo

Shell [9781471172625]

'The day the great man sang, heat blazed in haloes over Bennelong Point. This is what Pearl will remember, later, this is what she will say: that his …

rrp: £12.99
£12.21
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
The Organic Painter: Learn to paint with tea, coffee, embroidery, flame, and more; Explore Unusual Materials and Playful Techniques to Expand your Creative Practice cover photo

The Organic Painter [9781631596087]

Bored with the same old paints? The Organic Painter introduces innovative techniques for using non-traditional paint derived from materials like coffe…

rrp: £16.99
£12.73
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Hate: A Romance cover photo

Hate: A Romance [9780571251834]

In a controversial first novel that took the French literary world by storm and won the Prix de Flore, Tristan Garcia uses sex, friendships and lov…

rrp: £12.99
£9.21
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Border cover photo

The Border [9780008227531]

The explosive, highly anticipated conclusion to the epic Cartel trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of The Force. The war has come hom…

rrp: £20.00
£12.67
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Sinner and Saint: The Inspirational Story of Martin Murray cover photo

Sinner and Saint: The Inspirational Story of Martin Murray [9781785313851]

Sinner and Saint is the inspirational story of Martin Murray, St Helens' flawed yet favourite son. A promising amateur teenage boxer, Murray was drawn…

rrp: £19.99
£19.06
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Short & Skinny cover photo

Short & Skinny [9780316440516]

New from syndicated comic strip artist Mark Tatulli comes a full-color middle grade graphic novel that centers on Mark's own experience in the summer …

rrp: £9.99
£9.38
Not currently available.
Simply Delicious the Classic Collection: 100 timeless, tried & tested recipes cover photo

Simply Delicious the Classic Collection: 100 timeless, tried & tested recipes [9780857835123]

Nearly 30 years on from the original Simply Delicious book and TV series, Darina Allen brings together 100 of her timeless, tried and trusted recipes.…

rrp: £20.00
£16.72
Not currently available.
Sight Smell Touch Taste Sound: A new way to cook cover photo

Sight Smell Touch Taste Sound: A new way to cook [9781911595670]

A fascinating and important book, informative, inspiring and a joy to read. - Claudia Roden What makes a dish look alluring? Can smell (flavour) …

rrp: £24.00
£19.55
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Educating Outside: Curriculum-linked outdoor learning ideas for primary teachers cover photo

Educating Outside: Curriculum-linked outdoor learning ideas for primary teachers [9781472946294]

Although the benefits of learning outside are well documented, outdoor activities often decline as children progress through their education. There ar…

rrp: £19.99
£17.65
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Shell cover photo

Shell [9781407180250]

What if you thought you had died, only to wake up in someone else's body? When Lucy, a teen diagnosed with terminal cancer wakes up ca…

rrp: £7.99
£7.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days