Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£8.99
(You save £1.00 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List

Post-Truth: How Bullshit Conquered the World [9781785902147]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

'A timely and important book by one of the smartest of the new generation of journalists and thinkers.' - Alan Rusbridger, former Guardian editor-in-chief

'In the era of Trump, bullshit is spreading like a pandemic. In Post-Truth, Ball has put on his Hazmat suit, waded into the most infected areas of the world, and found a way to stop the plague.' - Alex Gibney, Academy Award-winning documentary maker

2016 marked the birth of the post-truth era. Sophistry and spin have coloured politics since the dawn of time, but two shock events - the Brexit vote and Donald Trump's elevation to US President - heralded a departure into murkier territory.

From Trump denying video evidence of his own words, to the infamous Leave claims of GBP350 million for the NHS, politics has rarely seen so many stretching the truth with such impunity.

Bullshit gets you noticed. Bullshit makes you rich. Bullshit can even pave your way to the Oval Office.

This is bigger than fake news and bigger than social media. It's about the slow rise of a political, media and online infrastructure that has devalued truth.

This is the story of bullshit: what's being spread, who's spreading it, why it works - and what we can do to tackle it.


AUTHOR: James Ball has worked in political, data and investigative journalism in the US and UK for BuzzFeed, The Guardian and the Washington Post in a career spanning TV, digital, print and alternative media. His reporting has won the Pulitzer Prize for public service, the Scripps Howard Prize, the British Journalism Award for investigative reporting, The Royal Statistical Society Award and the Laurence Stern Fellowship, among others.
more
less
SKU:
9781785902147
ISBN13:
9781785902147
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Author:
James Ball
Publisher:
Biteback Publishing
Publication:
11-May-2017
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
320
Stock Status:
Available to order
Weight:
400 Grams
The Iron Man cover photo

The Iron Man [9780571348879]

The Iron Man came to the top of the cliff. Where had he come from? Nobody knows. How was he made? Nobody knows. Mankind must put a stop to the dr…

rrp: £9.99
£7.96
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Spellhacker cover photo

Spellhacker [9780062657701]

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.In Kyrkarta, magic-known …

rrp: £12.99
£12.28
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days