Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £20.00
£15.87
(You save £4.13 )
Availability:
Pre-Order. Publishes 07-Oct-2021
Add to Wish List

On Gallows Down: Place, Protest and Belonging [9781645021162]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Part nature writing, part memoir, On Gallows Down is an essential, unforgettable read for fans of Helen Macdonald, Melissa Harrison and Isabella Tree.

Nicola Chester won the BBC Wildlife Magazine's Nature Writer of the Year Award - this is her first book.

The story of a life shaped by landscape; of an enduring love of nature and the fierce desire to protect it - living as part of the rural working class in a 'tied cottage' on a country estate - and what it takes to feel like you belong.

On Gallows Down is a book about hope - from the rewilding of Greenham Common after the missiles left to how, as a new mother, Nicola walked the chalk hills to give her children roots, teaching them names and waymarks to find their way home. It is about the songs of the nightingale and cuckoo - whose return she waits for - the red kites, fieldfares, skylarks and lapwings that accompany her, the badger cubs she watches at night and the velvety mole she finds in her garden.

And it is also the story of how Nicola came to write and to protest - unearthing the seam of resistance that ran through Newbury's past, from the Civil Wars to the Swing Riots and the women of the Greenham Common Peace Camps, and to the fight against the Newbury bypass. A resistance that continues today against the destruction of hedgerows, trees and wildlife through modern farm estate management.

On Gallows Down is perfect for fans of H is for Hawk, The Salt Path and Featherhood.

'It is impossible to write with integrity about nature without protesting and resisting and waving a desperate red flag.

Isn't it?'


AUTHOR: Nicola Chester's clarion call to nature conservation was first recognised when she won the BBC Wildlife Magazine's Nature Writer of the Year Award in 2003. She has written a regular column for the RSPB members' magazine, Nature's Home, for over fifteen years. She is a Guardian Country Diarist and wrote the first book in the RSPB's Spotlight series on iconic British wildlife, Otters. Her writing features in several anthologies, including all four Seasons books, edited by Melissa Harrison, the new Red Sixty Seven book and Women on Nature, edited by Katharine Norbury.

more
less
SKU:
9781645021162
ISBN13:
9781645021162
Availability:
Pre-Order. Publishes 07-Oct-2021
Author:
Nicola Chester
Publisher:
Chelsea Green Publishing Co
Publication:
07-Oct-2021
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
256
Weight:
800 Grams
And Away... cover photo

And Away... [9781398505292]

The long-awaited first autobiography by national treasure Bob Mortimer. Bob Mortimer's life was trundling along happily until suddenly in 2015 he was …

rrp: £20.00
£12.22
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Invention: A Life [9781471198748]

Invention: A Life [9781471198748]

Dyson has become a byword for high performing products, technology, design and invention. Now, James Dyson, the inventor and entrepreneur who made it …

rrp: £25.00
£14.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Minecraft Annual 2022 cover photo

Minecraft Annual 2022 [9780755501076]

The official Minecraft Annual 2022 is packed with activities, build ideas and survival challenges to try out in-game. Featuring all the latest news i…

rrp: £8.99
£6.84
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.