This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

No Shame [9781471406782]

(1 review) Write a Review
The powerful companion to NO VIRGIN. From the author of the critically acclaimed, LOOKING FOR JJ, shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize in 2004 and the Carnegie Medal in 2005. Stacey Woods has been raped and now she has to go through a different ordeal - the court trial. But nothing in life it seems is black and white and life is not always fair or just. Suddenly it seems that she may not be believed and that the man who attacked her may be found not guilty . . . if so Stacey will need to find a way to rebuild her life again . . . A tautly told and important book, perfect for readers of Asking for It by Louise O'Neill.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £7.99
£6.98
(You save £1.01 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781471406782
ISBN13:
9781471406782
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Anne Cassidy
Publisher:
Hot Key Books
Publication:
21-Sep-2017
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
224
Weight:
168 Grams
  • 4
    An important subject

    Posted by busylizzie on 24th Sep 2017

    No Shame deals with the experience of a teenage rape victim who has chosen to report the crime and seek justice in court. The rape itself was described in an earlier book so here we follow Stacey through the ordeal of the court case and the awful realisation that her plausible attacker could well get away with his crime, since, as in many rape cases, it comes down to whose version of events the jury will believe.
    This difficult subject is tackled in a straightforward and sympathetic manner, and the way the case progresses feels authentic and well-researched. The story was not as harrowing as I feared since Stacey did not appear to be as severely affected, mentally and emotionally, as in some cases. She is a courageous and resilient, though fallible, person with a number of supportive people to help her. Perhaps this approach was chosen to make the book, and its important lessons, more accessible for its Young Adult audience.
    I still felt very emotionally involved in the outcome and though this was a relatively quick read the story stayed with me for some time.

No Virgin [9781471405785]

From the author of the critically acclaimed, LOOKING FOR JJ, shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize in 2004 and the Carnegie Medal in 2005. A raw, power…

rrp: £7.99
£6.98
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Needlework cover photo

Needlework [9781910411506]

'I would like to make things beautiful, but a tawdry and repulsive kind of beauty. A braver sort than people have from birth. Sexy zombies on a bicep.…

rrp: £7.99
£7.36
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
No. More. Plastic.: What you can do to make a difference in just 2 minutes cover photo

No. More. Plastic.: What you can do to make a difference in just 2 minutes [9781785039874]

'We could actually do something about plastic right now' - David Attenborough Plastic is ruining our environment, and we can do something about it.&n…

rrp: £6.99
£6.02
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Out of the Blue cover photo

Out of the Blue [9781509853168]

When angels start falling from the sky, it seems like the world is ending. For most people it doesn't. But for Jaya the world ended when her mother di…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
No Reservations: Salon Games Book 2 cover photo

No Reservations: Salon Games Book 2 [9781472210838]

For fans of Maya Banks, Beth Kery and Jo Davis comes the second scorching-hot and intoxicatingly romantic installment in Stephanie Julian's Salon Game…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
No Middle Name: The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Stories cover photo

No Middle Name: The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Stories [9780857503770]

Jack 'No Middle Name' Reacher, lone wolf, knight errant, ex military cop, lover of women, scourge of the wicked and righter of wrongs, is the most ico…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
No Way Out: My terrifying story of abuse at the hands of a vile sex ring cover photo

No Way Out: My terrifying story of abuse at the hands of a vile sex ring [9781785037429]

They'd degraded me to the point where I'd become this sex thing - this thing that wasn't human, but just an object. To the point where I believed that…

rrp: £7.99
£6.53
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
I Was Born for This cover photo

I Was Born for This [9780008244095]

The third novel from the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman - one of the most talked about YA writers in recent years. For Angel Rahimi…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Assassin of Verona cover photo

The Assassin of Verona [9781785761553]

A thrilling new novel of conspiracy, intrigue and rapier-sharp wit, starring the inimitable William Shakespeare. Venice, 1586. William Shakespeare …

rrp: £16.99
£11.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Milk and Honey cover photo

Milk and Honey [9781449474256]

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose; deals with a different pain; heals a different heartache. milk an…

rrp: £9.99
£5.89
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.