This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

My Life with Murderers: Behind Bars with the World's Most Violent Men [9780751574142]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Professor David Wilson has spent his professional life working with violent men - especially men who have committed murder. Aged twenty-nine he became, at that time, the UK's youngest ever prison Governor in charge of a jail and his career since then has seen him sat across a table with all sorts of killers: sometimes in a tense interview; sometimes sharing a cup of tea (or something a little stronger); sometimes looking them in the eye to tell them that they are a psychopath.

Some of these men became David's friends; others would still love to kill him.

My Life with Murderers tells the story of David's journey from idealistic prison governor to expert criminologist and professor. With experience unlike any other, David's story is a fascinating and compelling study of human nature.


AUTHOR:

David Wilson is Emeritus Professor of Criminology and the founding Director of the Centre for Applied Criminology at Birmingham City University. Prior to taking up an academic appointment in 1997, David was a Prison Governor and at 29 became the youngest governing governor in England.

He worked at Grendon, Wormwood Scrubs and at Woodhill in Milton Keynes - where he helped to design and then ran the two units for the 12 most violent prisoners in the country, which brought him into contact with many recent serial killers. David regularly appears in the print and broadcast media as a commentator and presenter. His most recent documentary was the critically acclaimed Interview with a Murderer for Channel 4 in June 2016. In 2017 the documentary won the Broadcast Award and the Royal Television Society Award.

Professor Wilson regularly gives public, school and university lectures. He is currently filming for the BBC and Channel 4.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £20.00
£15.89
(You save £4.11 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780751574142
UPC:
9780751574142
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
David Wilson
Publisher:
Sphere
Publication:
21-Mar-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
288
Get Your Kids to Eat Anything: A 5-phase programme to change the way your family thinks about food cover photo

Get Your Kids to Eat Anything: A 5-phase programme to change the way your family thinks about food [9781784725587]

Get Your Kids to Eat Anything is an achievable 'how to' for parents in the battle to overcome picky eating and 'make new the norm'. Emily Leary's uniq…

rrp: £16.99
£13.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Sonic Youth Slept On My Floor: Music, Manchester, and More: A Memoir cover photo

Sonic Youth Slept On My Floor: Music, Manchester, and More: A Memoir [9781472127518]

'Beautifully judged account of the Manchester scene . . . There is something of the fairy tale about Dave Haslam's sage joyful testament to the kind o…

rrp: £10.99
£10.05
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Brutal cover photo

Brutal [9781447288404]

Frank Peters' peaceful life on his farm in the isolated Yorkshire Moors comes to an abrupt end when his beloved wife Maureen dies. Depressed when his …

rrp: £12.99
£8.66
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Lives We Touch: The new uplifting, funny and wise read from the Kindle bestseller cover photo

The Lives We Touch: The new uplifting, funny and wise read from the Kindle bestseller [9780751568585]

The feelgood, uplifting, fabulous new book from Kindle bestseller Eva Woods. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Lucy Dillon and Rowan Coleman. In our l…

£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Graphic Design, Third Edition: A History cover photo

Graphic Design, Third Edition: A History [9781786273970]

For the third edition of Graphic Design Stephen Eskilson has, with the aid of 540 new and existing images, updated key parts of the book. Most…

rrp: £35.00
£33.56
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Alchemy: The Surprising Power of Ideas That Don't Make Sense cover photo

Alchemy: The Surprising Power of Ideas That Don't Make Sense [9780753556504]

To be brilliant, you have to be irrational Why is Red Bull so popular - even though everyone hates the taste? Why do countdown boards on platforms …

rrp: £16.99
£12.52
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
222 Ways to Trick Yourself to Sleep: Scientifically Supported Ways to Fall Asleep and Stay Asleep cover photo

222 Ways to Trick Yourself to Sleep: Scientifically Supported Ways to Fall Asleep and Stay Asleep [9780349421803]

'Wide ranging, backed by science and research, informative and easy to understand, this is a great book for the sleep-deprived' Lisa Artis, The Sleep …

rrp: £12.99
£11.35
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Never Tell cover photo

Never Tell [9781780897714]

An unputdownable nail-biting thriller by the queen of domestic suspense. Detective DD Warren and Flora Dane must work together to establish what real…

rrp: £12.99
£9.00
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Freedom Fighter: My War Against ISIS on the Front Lines of Syria cover photo

Freedom Fighter: My War Against ISIS on the Front Lines of Syria [9781786494351]

Joanna Palani made headlines across the world in 2016 when her role fighting on the front line of the Syrian conflict was revealed. She is one of a h…

rrp: £9.99
£9.49
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Words of My Father cover photo

The Words of My Father [9781912208173]

In the Gaza Strip, growing up on land owned by his family for centuries, eleven-year-old Yousef is preoccupied by video games, school pranks, and meet…

rrp: £16.99
£13.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days