This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Madam [9781529408720]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Light a fire they can't put out...
For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope. A boarding school for girls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge 'resilient and ready to serve society'.
Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude.
When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor - a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss - she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe.
As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety...

A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeleine Miller and Margaret Atwood.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£14.44
(You save £0.55 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781529408720
ISBN13:
9781529408720
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Author:
Phoebe Wynne
Publisher:
Quercus Publishing
Publication:
13-May-2021
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
448
Weight:
660 Grams
Every Last Fear cover photo

Every Last Fear [9781800245266]

'Prepare yourself for twist after exciting twist. A standout novel plotted with surgical precision' KARIN SLAUGHTER Keep your family close, because yo…

rrp: £18.99
£16.41
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
The Library of the Dead cover photo

The Library of the Dead [9781529039450]

'A fast-moving and entertaining tale, beautifully written' - Ben AaronovitchWhen ghosts talk, she will listen . . . Ropa dropped out of school to beco…

rrp: £14.99
£13.62
Not currently available.
The Shadow in the Glass cover photo

The Shadow in the Glass [9780008368098]

A deliciously gothic story of wishes and curses - a new dark fairy tale set against a Victorian backdrop full of lace and smoke. Once upon …

rrp: £14.99
£13.56
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Girl in the Walls cover photo

Girl in the Walls [9780008381028]

She doesn't exist. She can't exist. 'A uniquely gothic tale about grief, belonging and hiding in plain sight' Jess Kidd, author of Things in Jars '…

rrp: £12.99
£9.88
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Klara and the Sun cover photo

Klara and the Sun [9780571364879]

'The Sun always has ways to reach us.'From her place in the store, Klara, an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities, watches caref…

rrp: £20.00
£13.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Court of Silver Flames cover photo

A Court of Silver Flames [9781526602312]

Sarah J. Maas's sexy, richly imagined Court of Thorns and Roses series continues with the journey of Feyre's fiery sister, Nesta. Nesta Archeron has …

rrp: £16.99
£12.27
Not currently available.
Daughters of Night cover photo

Daughters of Night [9781509880829]

From the brothels and gin-shops of Covent Garden to the elegant townhouses of Mayfair, Laura Shepherd-Robinson's Daughters of Night follows Caroline C…

rrp: £14.99
£10.18
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.