This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Life of Crime, A: The Memoirs of a High Court Judge [9780008267469]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

A frank and witty memoir of life at the Bar and on the Bench, from former High Court Judge The Hon. Sir Harry Ognall.

For many years, Harry Ognall enjoyed a formidable reputation as an advocate at the criminal Bar. As counsel, and later as judge, he was involved in numerous high-profile trials, both in Britain and abroad. Among many cases as a QC, he prosecuted Peter Sutcliffe, the so-called 'Yorkshire Ripper'. He successfully defended six officers of the Air Force of Zimbabwe at their trial in Harare, where they faced a charge of treasonable sabotage.

As a judge, he presided over the trial of Colin Stagg (the alleged 'Wimbledon Common murderer'), the trial arising from the Lyme Bay canoe tragedy and the trial for the first time in the United Kingdom of a doctor's alleged involvement in euthanasia.

Thoughtful and provocative, Sir Harry has advice for the aspiring young advocate, and invests this penetrating memoir with warmth, humour and understanding. His frank portrait of a lifetime in the criminal law offers unique perspectives on some of the most notorious cases of the twentieth century, as well as fascinating insights into a colourful professional life and the burdens and responsibilities that come with the privilege of high judicial office.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£11.80
(You save £1.19 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780008267469
UPC:
9780008267469
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
Harry Ognall
Publisher:
William Collins
Publication:
02-Nov-2017
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
160
Member of the Family cover photo

Member of the Family [9780008274757]

In this poignant and disturbing memoir of lost innocence, coercion, survival, and healing, Dianne Lake chronicles her years with Charles Manson, revea…

rrp: £14.99
£10.66
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
I Let Him Go cover photo

I Let Him Go [9781911600121]

From the mother of James Bulger. On 12th February 1993, Denise's life changed forever. As she was running errands at New Strand Shopping Centre, she l…

rrp: £16.99
£4.99
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Life of Crime cover photo

Life of Crime [9780008144739]

THE NO.1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER Some people are made for a life of crime Dragged up on a council estate, Jason Rampling was determined to change his …

rrp: £12.99
£9.61
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Kakeibo: The Japanese Art of Saving Money cover photo

Kakeibo: The Japanese Art of Saving Money [9781405936132]

The simple, foolproof way to save yourself money one day at a time. People in Japan are masters of minimal living, able to make do with less in all as…

rrp: £9.99
£6.79
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Only Dead on the Inside: A Parent's Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse cover photo

Only Dead on the Inside: A Parent's Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse [9781786493422]

Raising kids can sometimes feel like society has ended, so why not go one further, and actually plan for it? From James Breakwell, who BuzzFeed called…

rrp: £12.99
£3.99
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Killer Intent cover photo

Killer Intent [9781783963263]

As featured on The Zoe Ball Book Club This hardback edition of KILLER INTENT combines the ruthless political complexities of House of Cards and the j…

rrp: £12.99
£3.99
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Northern Lights - The Graphic Novel cover photo

Northern Lights - The Graphic Novel [9780857535429]

The incredible story of Lyra Belacqua will begin, and continue, in The Book of Dust. Now you have the opportunity to revisit her adventures in The Nor…

rrp: £18.99
£11.35
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
After the Snow cover photo

After the Snow [9780008219635]

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown. 'A modern day Nancy Mitford.' - Sir Elton John 'Fans of Downton Abbey will love this.' - Davina McCa…

rrp: £12.99
£9.71
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Whispering Room cover photo

The Whispering Room [9780007520183]

It's either fight, or die... The second gripping thriller in an exciting new series featuring FBI agent Jane Hawk, from the mas…

rrp: £20.00
£10.81
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Girl in the Ice cover photo

The Girl in the Ice [9780751570656]

Her eyes are wide open. Her lips parted as if to speak. Her dead body frozen in the ice . . . She is not the only one.When a young boy discovers the b…

rrp: £7.99
£7.78
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days