This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Great at Work: How Top Performers Do Less, Work Better, and Achieve More [9781471149078]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

From the New York Times bestselling author of Great by Choice comes an authoritative, practical guide to individual performance - based on analysis from an exhaustive, groundbreaking study.

Why do some people perform better at work than others? This deceptively simple question continues to confound professionals in all sectors of the workforce. Now, after a unique, five-year study of more than 5,000 managers and employees, Morten Hansen reveals the answers in his 'Seven Work Smarter Practices' that can be applied by anyone looking to maximise their time and performance.

Each of Hansen's seven practices is highlighted by inspiring stories from individuals in his comprehensive study. You'll meet a high school principal who engineered a dramatic turnaround of his failing high school; a rural Indian farmer determined to establish a better way of life for women in his village; and a sushi chef, whose simple preparation has led to his restaurant (tucked away under a Tokyo subway station underpass) being awarded the maximum of three Michelin stars. Hansen also explains how the way Alfred Hitchcock filmed Psycho and the 1911 race to become the first explorer to reach the South Pole both illustrate the use of his seven practices (even before they were identified).

Each chapter contains questions and key insights to allow you to assess your own performance and figure out your work strengths, as well as your weaknesses. Once you understand your individual style, there are mini-quizzes, questionnaires and clear tips to assist you focus on a strategy to become a more productive worker. Extensive, accessible and friendly, Great at Work will help you achieve more by working less, backed by unprecedented statistical analysis.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£14.55
(You save £0.44 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781471149078
UPC:
9781471149078
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
Morten Hansen
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publication:
30-Jan-2018
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
320
Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging cover photo

Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging [9781911214281]

Where are you really from? You're British. Your parents are British. You were raised in Britain. Your partner, your children and most of your friends …

rrp: £16.99
£10.60
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Culture Code: The Secrets of Highly Successful Groups cover photo

The Culture Code: The Secrets of Highly Successful Groups [9781847941268]

'A marvel of insight and practicality' Charles Duhigg, author of The Power of Habit What do Pixar, Google and the San Antonio Spurs basketball team h…

rrp: £14.99
£9.77
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Everything I Know About Love cover photo

Everything I Know About Love [9780241322710]

A spot-on, wildly funny and sometimes heart-breaking book about growing up, growing older and navigating all kinds of love along the way. When it come…

rrp: £12.99
£8.95
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Vegan Comfort Classics: 101 Recipes to Feed Your Face cover photo

Vegan Comfort Classics: 101 Recipes to Feed Your Face [9781785039386]

Feed your face with satisfying, delicious food. Vegan Comfort Classics is a collection of 101 mouth-watering recipes that combine innovative plan…

rrp: £16.99
£10.60
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Good Time to be a Girl, A: Don'T Lean in, Change the System cover photo

Good Time to be a Girl, A: Don'T Lean in, Change the System [9780008241605]

Five years have passed since women were exhorted to `Lean In'. Over that time, the world has transformed beyond all expectations. But why should anyon…

rrp: £14.99
£8.81
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Voices: How a Great Singer Can Change Your Life cover photo

Voices: How a Great Singer Can Change Your Life [9780224102513]

Food. Shelter. Warmth. Love. Voices. Other people's voices, singing - the fifth essential necessity of life. Nick Coleman's new book is an exploration…

rrp: £18.99
£9.46
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
White Chrysanthemum cover photo

White Chrysanthemum [9781784741440]

A riveting, immersive read in the vein of The Kite Runner and Memoirs of a Geisha. 'Look for your sister after each dive. Never forget. If you see her…

rrp: £12.99
£8.95
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Educated cover photo

Educated [9781786330512]

PICKED AS ONE TO WATCH in 2018 by the BBC, The Pool, Stylist and Express 'This fiercely intelligent memoir is a fascinating and compassionate view of…

rrp: £14.99
£9.77
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Three Things About Elsie cover photo

Three Things About Elsie [9780008196912]

From the author The Trouble With Goats and Sheep and a BBC Radio 2 Book Club Choice There are three things you should know about Elsie. The first thi…

rrp: £14.99
£8.43
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Age of Anger: A History of the Present cover photo

Age of Anger: A History of the Present [9780141984087]

'The kind of vision the world needs right now...Pankaj Mishra shouldn't stop thinking' - Financial Times 'This is the most astonishing, convincing, an…

rrp: £9.99
£7.71
Add to Cart
Awaiting stock.