Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £20.99
£19.19
(You save £1.80 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Add to Wish List

Fugitive (Jack Lark, Book 9) [9781472263438]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

In this ninth action-packed Victorian military adventure, Paul Fraser Collard's roguish hero Jack Lark - soldier, leader, imposter - crosses borders once more as he pursues a brand-new adventure in Africa.

After five years away, Jack Lark - soldier, leader, imposter - is once more called to fight . . .

London, 1868. Jack has traded the battlefield for business, running a thriving club in the backstreets of Whitechapel. But this underworld has rules and when Jack refuses to comply, he finds himself up against the East End's most formidable criminal - with devastating consequences.

A wanted man, Jack turns to his friend Macgregor, an ex-officer, treasure hunter and his ticket out of England. Together they join the British army on campaign across the tablelands of Abyssinia to the fortress of Magdala, a high-stakes mission to free British prisoners captured by the notorious Emperor Tewodros.

But life on the run can turn dangerous, especially in a land ravaged by war . . .

Praise for the Jack Lark series:

'Brilliant' Bernard Cornwell

'Enthralling' The Times

'Dusty deserts, showdowns under the blistering sun, bloodthirsty bandoleros, rough whisky and rougher men. Bullets fly, emotions run high and treachery abounds in The Lost Outlaw ... an exceptionally entertaining historical action adventure' Matthew Harffy

'I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he's telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero' Anthony Riches

'You feel and experience all the emotions and the blood, sweat and tears that Jack does... I devoured it in one sitting' Parmenion Books

'Expect ferocious, bloody action from the first page. Fast-paced, compelling, and with more villains than a Clint Eastwood classic, this unputdownable novel strongly reminded me of that legend of western writers, Louis L'Amour. A cracking read!' Ben Kane


AUTHOR: Paul's love of military history started at an early age. A childhood spent watching films like Waterloo and Zuluwhilst reading Sharpe, Flashman and the occasional Commando comic, gave him a desire to know more of the men who fought in the great wars of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. At school, Paul was determined to become an officer in the British Army and he succeeded in winning an Army Scholarship. However, Paul chose to give up his boyhood ambition and instead went into the finance industry. Paul stills works in the City, and lives with his wife and three children in Kent.
more
less
SKU:
9781472263438
ISBN13:
9781472263438
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Author:
Paul Fraser Collard
Publisher:
Headline Book Publishing
Publication:
20-Aug-2020
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
416
Stock Status:
Available to order
Weight:
640 Grams
I Go Quiet cover photo

I Go Quiet [9781786897404]

I Go Quiet is the exquisite story of an introverted girl, struggling to find her place in a noisy world. Through the power of books, creativity and i…

rrp: £12.99
£9.74
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Beasts From The Dark cover photo

Beasts From The Dark [9781788637695]

A pulse-pounding historical adventure from master of the genre Robert Low, perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.Drust, Kag and co are i…

rrp: £8.99
£8.40
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days