Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£11.14
(You save £1.85 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List

Escaping Exodus: A Novel [9780062867735]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Don't be alarmed - that dizzy pleasurable sensation you're experiencing is just your brain slowly exploding from all the wild magnificent worldbuilding in Nicky Drayden's Escaping Exodus. I loved these characters and this story, and so will you.

- Sam J. Miller, Nebula-Award-winning author of The Art of Starving and Blackfish City


The Compton Crook award-winning author of The Prey of Gods and Temper returns with a dazzling stand-alone novel, set in deep space, in which the fate of humanity rests on the slender shoulders of an idealistic and untested young woman-a blend of science fiction, dark humor, and magical realism that will appeal to fans of Charlie Jane Anders, Jeff VanderMeer, and Nnedi Okorafor.

Earth is a distant memory. Habitable extrasolar planets are still out of reach. For generations, humanity has been clinging to survival by establishing colonies within enormous vacuum-breathing space beasts and mining their resources to the point of depletion.

Rash, dreamy, and unconventional, Seske Kaleigh should be preparing for her future role as clan leader, but her people have just culled their latest beast, and she's eager to find the cause of the violent tremors plaguing their new home. Defying social barriers, Seske teams up with her best friend, a beast worker, and ventures into restricted areas for answers to end the mounting fear and rumors. Instead, they discover grim truths about the price of life in the void.

Then, Seske is unexpectedly thrust into the role of clan matriarch, responsible for thousands of lives in a harsh universe where a single mistake can be fatal. Her claim to the throne is challenged by a rival determined to overthrow her and take control-her intelligent, cunning, and confident sister.

Seske may not be a born leader like her sister, yet her unorthodox outlook and incorruptible idealism may be what the clan needs to save themselves and their world.


AUTHOR: Nicky Drayden's short fiction has appeared in publications such as Shimmer and Space and Time. She is a systems analyst and resides in Austin, Texas, where being weird is highly encouraged, if not required. Her debut novel, The Prey of Gods, was a best of the year pick by Book Riot, Vulture, and RT Book Reviews.
more
less
SKU:
9780062867735
ISBN13:
9780062867735
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Author:
Nicky Drayden
Publisher:
Harper Voyager
Publication:
14-Nov-2019
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
336
Stock Status:
Available to order
Weight:
245 Grams

Escape [9781419727597]

Gray Malin collection of incredible beach photography was a runaway hit. Now, in this follow-up to his 2016 bestseller, the it-photographer takes his…

rrp: £35.00
£27.90
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Escape Goat cover photo

Escape Goat [9780062883391]

From the international bestselling author of Bel Canto and The Dutch House, Ann Patchett, and the bestselling illustrator of the Fancy Nancy series, R…

rrp: £12.99
£12.28
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Escaping From Houdini cover photo

Escaping From Houdini [9780316551724]

A New York Times Bestseller! Audrey Rose and Thomas Cresswell find themselves aboard a luxurious ocean liner that becomes a floating prison of horror…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days