This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Empire of Enchantment: The Story of Indian Magic [9781849049443]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
India's association with magicians goes back thousands of years. Conjurors and illusionists dazzled the courts of Hindu maharajas and Mughal emperors. As British dominion spread over the subcontinent, such wonder-workers became synonymous with India. Western magicians appropriated Indian attire, tricks and stage names; switching their turbans for top hats, Indian jugglers fought back and earned their grudging respect. This book tells the extraordinary story of how Indian magic descended from the realm of the gods to become part of daily ritual and popular entertainment across the globe. Recounting tales of levitating Brahmins, resurrections, prophesying monkeys and 'the most famous trick never performed', Empire of Enchantment vividly charts Indian magic's epic journey from street to the stage.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £25.00
£17.47
(You save £7.53 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781849049443
ISBN13:
9781849049443
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
John Zubrzycki
Publisher:
C Hurst & Co Publishers Ltd
Publication:
21-Jun-2018
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
288
Weight:
800 Grams
Empire of Storms cover photo

Empire of Storms [9781408872895]

The long path to the throne has just begun for Aelin Galathynius. As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin i…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Emperor of Rome cover photo

Emperor of Rome [9781782397083]

Rome, AD 68. Vespasian is tasked with the impossible. Should he quell the revolt in Judaea, as Nero the emperor has instructed, or must he resort to t…

rrp: £17.99
£11.00
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Empire of Gold cover photo

Empire of Gold [9780755383245]

Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase are back for their seventh blockbusting adventure by the bestselling author of THE HUNT FOR ATLANTIS, Andy McDermott. When …

rrp: £9.99
£9.39
Not currently available.
Empire of Booze cover photo

Empire of Booze [9781783525157]

Winner of the Fortnum and Mason Best Debut Drink Book Award 2017 From renowned booze correspondent Henry Jeffreys comes this rich and full-bodied h…

rrp: £9.99
£7.97
Not currently available.
Emphyrio cover photo

Emphyrio [9781857988857]

Far in the future, the craftsmen of the distant planet Halma create goods which are the wonder of the galaxy. But they know little of this. Their soc…

rrp: £8.99
£8.43
Not currently available.
Empire cover photo

Empire [9781472209757]

The second in the epic Chronicles of the Invaders trilogy by bestselling author John Connolly, and Jennifer Ridyard. For fans of THE 5TH WAVE and I AM…

rrp: £9.99
£9.39
Not currently available.
Empire in Black and Gold cover photo

Empire in Black and Gold [9781529050264]

Empire in Black and Gold is the first instalment in the critically-acclaimed fantasy series Shadows of the Aptby Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of the Art…

rrp: £9.99
£9.78
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days