This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Delayed Rays of a Star [9781526609014]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
When a photographer captures Marlene Dietrich, Anna May Wong and Leni Riefenstahl in one frame at a party in Berlin in 1928, no one realizes the extent to which their lives will reflect the tumultuous decades that follow. Marlene crosses the Atlantic to find fame in Hollywood, the town that eats out of the palm of her hand till her wrinkles begin to show. After establishing her position as a filmmaker, Leni watches her fame turn to notoriety following the defeat of Nazi Germany. Nine and a half times out of ten films, the side characters played by Anna May must die so the white male lead can be returned to his white paramour on the screen. In the murky world these women navigate, their choices will be held up to the test of time. And the real question is, how much has anything changed? This fierce and exquisite debut about womanhood, ambition, and art, played out against the shifting political tides of the twentieth century, introduces a mesmerizing new literary talent for our times.
AUTHOR: Amanda Lee Koe was the fiction editor of Esquire Singapore, an honorary fellow of the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa, the recipient of Columbia University's Henfield Prize, and the youngest winner of the Singapore Literature Prize. Born in Singapore, she lives in New York. This is her first novel.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £16.99
£13.34
(You save £3.65 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781526609014
ISBN13:
9781526609014
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Amanda Lee Koe
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication:
14-Nov-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
400
Weight:
728 Grams
A Widow's Hope cover photo

A Widow's Hope [9781529400717]

A gripping saga about guilt, secrets and an enduring love from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.I…

£9.62
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 20-Feb-2020
Snowed in at the Practice cover photo

Snowed in at the Practice [9781471164033]

Welcome to the Larkford Surgery in the Cotswolds, the heart of a tightknit community as well as a hotbed of drama, rivalry, resentment and romance - a…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Nine Lives of Christmas: Can Battersea's Felicia find a home in time for the holidays? cover photo

The Nine Lives of Christmas: Can Battersea's Felicia find a home in time for the holidays? [9781409192657]

It's Christmas at Battersea Cats and Dogs Home and Laura is desperate to find a home for Felicia, a spiky, bad-tempered moggy with a heart of gold. He…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Black Fox Running cover photo

A Black Fox Running [9781408896129]

`I have never read a novel about animals and the British countryside - with the single exception of BB's The Wild Lone - which has so moved or entranc…

rrp: £8.99
£8.44
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The God Child cover photo

The God Child [9781408882429]

Maya grows up in Germany knowing that her parents are different: from one another, and from the rest of the world. Her reserved, studious father is di…

rrp: £14.99
£13.34
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Daughter of the Tigris cover photo

Daughter of the Tigris [9780857056825]

The follow-up to the internationally acclaimed The President's GardensOn the sixth day of Ramadan, in a land without bananas, Qisma leaves for Baghdad…

rrp: £14.99
£14.24
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
In Praise Of Shadows cover photo

In Praise Of Shadows [9781784875572]

A fully illustrated, beautifully produced edition of Junichiro Tanizaki's wise and evocative essay on Japanese culture. `We find beauty not in the …

rrp: £9.99
£8.11
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Three Little Truths cover photo

Three Little Truths [9781786496195]

Martha used to be a force of nature: calm, collected, and in charge. But since moving her husband and two daughters to Dublin under sudden and mysteri…

rrp: £12.99
£12.88
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Liverpool Girl cover photo

A Liverpool Girl [9781529103526]

Her father is dead and her mother doesn't want her... When Babby's dad is killed in a senseless bar room brawl it changes their family forever. S…

rrp: £6.99
£6.56
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Marie Curie: My First Marie Curie cover photo

Marie Curie: My First Marie Curie [9781786032546]

Now in board book! Introduce your littlest one to Marie Curie, the Nobel Prize winning scientist. Told in simpler sentences, this young reader edition…

rrp: £5.99
£5.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days