This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Daughter of the Tigris [9780857056825]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

The follow-up to the internationally acclaimed The President's Gardens

On the sixth day of Ramadan, in a land without bananas, Qisma leaves for Baghdad with her husband-to-be to find the body of her father. But in the bloodiest year of a bloody war, how will she find one body among thousands?

For Tariq, this is more than just a marriage of convenience: the beautiful, urbane Qisma must be his, body and soul. But can a sheikh steeped in genteel tradition share a tranquil bed with a modern Iraqi woman?

The President has been deposed, and the garden of Iraq is full of presidents who will stop at nothing to take his place. Qisma is afraid - afraid for her son, afraid that it is only a matter of time before her father's murderers come for her.

The only way to survive is to take a slice of Iraq for herself. But ambition is the most dangerous drug of all, and it could just seal Qisma's fate.

Translated from the Arabic by Luke Leafgren

REVIEWS FOR THE PRESIDENT'S GARDENS

'Though firmly rooted in its context, The President's Gardens' concerns are universal. It is a profoundly moving investigation of love, death and injustice, and an affirmation of the importance of dignity, friendship and meaning amid oppression. Its light touch and persistent humour make it an enormous pleasure to read' Robin Yassin-Kassab, Guardian.

The President's Gardens evokes the fantastical, small town feel of One Hundred Years of Solitude Tom Gordon, Financial Times

'No author is better placed than Muhsin Al-Ramli, already a star in the Arabic literary scene, to tell this story. I read it in one sitting' Hassan Blasim, winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize


AUTHOR: Muhsin Al-Ramli is an Iraqi writer, poet, academic and translator, born in the village of Sudara in northern Iraq in 1967. He has lived in Madrid since 1995. The President's Gardens was longlisted for the IPAF, known as the Arabic Booker , in 2013.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£13.16
(You save £1.83 )
Availability:
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780857056825
ISBN13:
9780857056825
Availability:
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Author:
Muhsin Al-Ramli
Publisher:
MacLehose Press
Publication:
14-Nov-2019
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
384
Weight:
480 Grams
A Widow's Hope cover photo

A Widow's Hope [9781529400717]

A gripping saga about guilt, secrets and an enduring love from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.I…

£9.62
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 20-Feb-2020
Delayed Rays of a Star cover photo

Delayed Rays of a Star [9781526609014]

When a photographer captures Marlene Dietrich, Anna May Wong and Leni Riefenstahl in one frame at a party in Berlin in 1928, no one realizes the exten…

rrp: £16.99
£13.85
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Snowed in at the Practice cover photo

Snowed in at the Practice [9781471164033]

Welcome to the Larkford Surgery in the Cotswolds, the heart of a tightknit community as well as a hotbed of drama, rivalry, resentment and romance - a…

£9.57
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
The Nine Lives of Christmas: Can Battersea's Felicia find a home in time for the holidays? cover photo

The Nine Lives of Christmas: Can Battersea's Felicia find a home in time for the holidays? [9781409192657]

It's Christmas at Battersea Cats and Dogs Home and Laura is desperate to find a home for Felicia, a spiky, bad-tempered moggy with a heart of gold. He…

£8.62
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
A Black Fox Running cover photo

A Black Fox Running [9781408896129]

`I have never read a novel about animals and the British countryside - with the single exception of BB's The Wild Lone - which has so moved or entranc…

rrp: £8.99
£8.95
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
The God Child cover photo

The God Child [9781408882429]

Maya grows up in Germany knowing that her parents are different: from one another, and from the rest of the world. Her reserved, studious father is di…

rrp: £14.99
£13.85
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
In Praise Of Shadows cover photo

In Praise Of Shadows [9781784875572]

A fully illustrated, beautifully produced edition of Junichiro Tanizaki's wise and evocative essay on Japanese culture. `We find beauty not in the …

rrp: £9.99
£7.57
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 07-Nov-2019
Three Little Truths cover photo

Three Little Truths [9781786496195]

Martha used to be a force of nature: calm, collected, and in charge. But since moving her husband and two daughters to Dublin under sudden and mysteri…

rrp: £12.99
£12.88
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days