This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Dancing By The Light of The Moon [9780241397923]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

A collection of over 250 of our nation's best-loved poems to read, relish and recite, handpicked by Gyles Brandreth.

A little poetry really can save your life.

Poetry is officially good for you. Not only does it enhance literacy in the young, but learning poetry by heart is the one truly pleasurable thing you can do to improve memory, boost brain power, extend your vocabulary and beat cognitive decline as time goes by.

In Dancing by the Light of the Moon, Gyles Brandreth shares over 250 poems to read, relish and recite, as well as his advice on how to learn poetry by heart, and the benefits of doing so.

Whether you are nine, nineteen or ninety, the poems and advice in this book provide the most enjoyable, moving and inspiring way to ensure a lifetime of dancing by the light of the moon - one joyous poem at a time.

'Gyles has discovered the secret of finding happiness through learning poetry by heart. It's wonderful and so much fun.' Dame Judi Dench

Poets include:

A. A. Milne
Benjamin Zephaniah
Carol Ann Duffy
Celia Johnson
D. H. Lawrence
E. E. Cummings
Edgar Allen Poe
Emily Dickinson
George the Poet
Hollie McNish
John Cooper Clarke
John Keats
John Milton
Kate Tempest
Leonard Cohen
Lewis Carroll
Maya Angelou
Monty Python
Oscar Wilde
Roald Dahl
Robert Browning
Robert Burns
Robert Louis Stevenson
Simon Armitage
Spike Milligan
Sylvia Plath
T. S. Eliot
Walt Whitman
Wendy Cope
William Shakespeare
William Wordsworth

And many more...


AUTHOR:

Gyles Daubeney Brandreth is an English theatre producer, actor, politician, journalist, author and TV presenter. Born in Germany, he moved to London at the age of three and, after his education at New College, Oxford, he began his career in television.

He went from presenting Puzzle Party in the 1970s, to appearing in Countdown's Dictionary Corner for over 300 episodes. His career has since encompassed becoming an MP and appearing regularly on TV and radio, but writing is his true passion.

His past books include; Word Play, Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations and Breaking the Code: Westminster Diaries.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£9.98
(You save £5.01 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780241397923
UPC:
9780241397923
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Gyles Brandreth
Publisher:
Michael Joseph Ltd
Publication:
05-Sep-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
464
Chart Position:
325
Living Philosophy in Kierkegaard, Melville, and Others: Intersections of Literature, Philosophy, and Religion cover photo

Living Philosophy in Kierkegaard, Melville, and Others: Intersections of Literature, Philosophy, and Religion [9781501357718]

Edward F. Mooney takes us into the lived philosophies of Melville, Kierkegaard, Henry Bugbee, and others who write deeply in ways that bring philosoph…

rrp: £80.00
£64.68
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 12-Dec-2019
Synaesthetics: Art as Synaesthesia cover photo

Synaesthetics: Art as Synaesthesia [9781501356797]

Paul Gordon proposes a new theory of art as synaesthetic and applies this idea to various media, including works--such as movies, illustrated books an…

rrp: £80.00
£64.68
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 12-Dec-2019
Inexpressible Island cover photo

Inexpressible Island [9780007441693]

They were ready for anything ... except the end. The must-read conclusion to Paullina Simons' epic End of Forever saga. Julian has lost eve…

rrp: £8.99
£8.09
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 12-Dec-2019
Nothing More Dangerous cover photo

Nothing More Dangerous [9781529327069]

In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Let…

£21.10
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
To Be the Best cover photo

To Be the Best [9780008365608]

The enthralling sequel to Barbara Taylor Bradford's universally loved novels, A Woman of Substance and Hold The Dream. Set in Y…

£9.27
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Hold the Dream cover photo

Hold the Dream [9780008365592]

The continuing story of Emma Harte, indomitable heroine of A Woman of Substance. Emma Harte is now eighty years old and ready t…

rrp: £8.99
£8.09
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
A Spell of Winter cover photo

A Spell of Winter [9780241987506]

*Winner of the inaugural Orange Prize for Fiction*'Tense, dark and intensely gripping . . . written so seductively that passages sing out from the pag…

rrp: £8.99
£8.11
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 17-Oct-2019
A Gift for Dying cover photo

A Gift for Dying [9781405932509]

From The Sunday Times bestselling author of the Helen Grace series comes the gripping new thriller perfect for fans of James Patterson, Angela Marsons…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Cabin cover photo

The Cabin [9780241405963]

** Jorn Lier Horst is the winner of the 2018 Nordic Noir Thriller of the Year award **You loved Wallander, now meet Wisting . . . ___________ Pre-or…

rrp: £13.99
£10.19
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Dance by the Light of the Moon cover photo

Dance by the Light of the Moon [9781906838171]

A moving love story inspired by the author's relationship with a political refugee from Togo. It began as a response to the publication of a short sto…

rrp: £14.99
£11.77
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days