This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Counterclockwise: A Proven Way to Think Yourself Younger and Healthier [9780340994764]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
If we could turn back the clock psychologically, could we also turn it back physically? For more than thirty years, award-winning psychologist Ellen Langer has studied this provocative question, and now, in Counterclockwise, she presents a conclusive answer: opening our minds to what's possible, instead of clinging to notions about what's not, can lead to better health - at any age. Drawing on landmark work in the field and her own body of colourful and highly original experiments, Langer shows that the magic of rejuvenation and ongoing good health lies in being aware of the ways we mindlessly react to social and cultural cues. With only subtle shifts in our thinking, our language, and in our expectations, she tells us that we can begin to change the ingrained behaviour that sap health, optimism, and vitality from our lives. Immensely readable and truly fascinating, Counterclockwise offers a transformative and bold new paradigm: the psychology of possibility. A hopeful and groundbreaking book by an author who has changed how people all over the world think and feel. Counterclockwise is sure to become a standard source on new-century science and healing.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
£10.44
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780340994764
UPC:
9780340994764
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Ellen J. Langer
Publisher:
Hodder Paperback
Publication:
16-Sep-2010
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
240
Could A Penguin Ride a Bike? cover photo

Could A Penguin Ride a Bike? [9781781716649]

Could a Penguin Ride a Bike? provides a fun and informative introduction into the life of a penguin. By imagining animals in everyday scenarios, reade…

£7.44
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Costume Not Included: To Hell and Back, Book 2 cover photo

Costume Not Included: To Hell and Back, Book 2 [9780857661388]

Chesney's efforts to save the day and get the girl make slow progress. Even as he is trying to learn the ropes, Boss Greeley has made a deal with the …

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Cowboy Classics: The Roots of the American Western in the Epic Tradition cover photo

Cowboy Classics: The Roots of the American Western in the Epic Tradition [9781474402460]

Cowboy Classics looks at the surprisingly close connection between Western film and Greek and Roman epic, each of which focuses on a mythic-historical…

rrp: £75.00
£64.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Country House Life: A Century in Photographs cover photo

Country House Life: A Century in Photographs [9781907892257]

An intriguing look at the life that was led in the country homes and estates now cared for by the National Trust in the period between the 1840s to th…

rrp: £14.99
£14.41
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Cowboy Pug cover photo

Cowboy Pug [9781408866382]

Meet the brilliant, the wonderful, the courageous ...Cowboy Pug! The second book in a joyful new illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McF…

rrp: £5.99
£5.69
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Cousins cover photo

Cousins [9780241972298]

'Wonderful. Vickers spins a spellbinding account of a family in distress' - Elizabeth Strout 'Vickers has a formidable knack for laying open the human…

rrp: £8.99
£6.80
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Courage to Soar: A Body in Motion, a Life in Balance cover photo

Courage to Soar: A Body in Motion, a Life in Balance [9780310759669]

'Simone's narrative outlines a great success story for all ages.' - Martha Karolyi, US National Team coordinator, 2000 to 2016, including the Olympics…

rrp: £18.99
£17.47
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Courageous First World War Stories cover photo

Courageous First World War Stories [9781407147345]

COURAGEOUS FIRST WORLD WAR STORIES is a collection of three wartime adventures that will transport the reader to the heart of the First World War by l…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation cover photo

Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation [9780500291993]

Aardman Animations are, unquestionably, one of the biggest success stories in animated films: their masterpieces include Wallace and Gromit, Chicken R…

rrp: £24.95
£22.04
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Cow cover photo

Cow [9781861893260]

From the milk we drink in the morning to the leather shoes we slip on for the day, to the steak we savour at dinner, our daily lives are thoroughly bo…

rrp: £12.95
£12.85
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days