Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0

Burnt Sugar [9780241441510] SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Deborah Levy, Jenny Offill and Diana Evans.

In her youth, Tara was wild. She abandoned her loveless marriage to join an ashram, endured a brief stint as a beggar (mostly to spite her affluent parents), and spent years chasing after a dishevelled, homeless 'artist' - all with her young child in tow.

Now she is forgetting things, mixing up her maid's wages and leaving the gas on all night, and her grown-up daughter is faced with the task of caring for a woman who never cared for her.

This is a love story and a story about betrayal. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. Sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt Sugar unpicks the slippery, choking cord of memory and myth that binds two women together, making and unmaking them endlessly.

'Poignant and economical, it speaks of motherhood and memory, trauma and truth-searching, love and the language for it' Vogue India

'Acerbic, full of wit and cool intelligence, but also brilliantly poetic and passionate - every sentence is a coiled spring and each psychological portrait burns itself into the mind. I couldn't put it down' Olivia Sudjic, author of Exposure and Sympathy

'Crystalline, surgical, compulsively readable. An examination of toxic relationships and the ties that bind us' Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti


AUTHOR: Avni Doshi was born in New Jersey in 1982 and is currently based in Dubai. She won the Tibor Jones South Asia Prize in 2013 and a Charles Pick Fellowship at the University of East Anglia in 2014. Her debut novel is published in India by Fourth Estate under the title Girl in White Cotton.

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£10.16
(You save £4.83 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780241441510
ISBN13:
9780241441510
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Avni Doshi
Publisher:
Hamish Hamilton Ltd
Publication:
30-Jul-2020
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
240
Weight:
250 Grams
Real Life cover photo

Real Life [9781911547747]

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 BOOKER PRIZE A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS' CHOICE A GUARDIAN SUMMER READING CHOICE Wallace has spent his summer in the lab bre…

rrp: £9.99
£8.18
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Piranesi cover photo

Piranesi [9781526622426]

Piranesi lives in the House. Perhaps he always has? Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell transported over four million readers into its mysterious …

rrp: £14.99
£10.78
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Hamnet cover photo

Hamnet [9781472223821]

** WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2020 ** A stunning new departure for Maggie O'Farrell's fiction - the heart-stopping story behind Shakespe…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Sale
Vesper Flights cover photo

Vesper Flights [9780224097017]

** A GREAT READ'S BOOK OF THE MONTH **  ** A BBC RADIO 4 BOOK OF THE WEEK ** Animals don't exist to teach us things, but that is what they …

rrp: £16.99
Was: £10.41
Now: £8.00
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.