This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

Bojagi - Korean Textile Art: technique, design and inspiration [9781849945219]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Bojagi, sometimes called Pojagi, is a traditional Korean textile art. Centuries old, it was originally textiles made for every day living with scraps of left-over fabrics artfully put together. They often resemble works of modern artists such as Mondrian and Klee. Today, the technique now produces beautiful textiles that are fast influencing textile art in the West, particularly amongst quilters.

Using her own work and the work of other artists, leading expert on the subject Sara Cook demonstrates the techniques and how modern textilers can interpret the principles of Bojagi creatively in exciting new work.

The book covers a brief history and understanding of Bojagi in Korean culture, then covers: Fabrics and sewing equipment (incl. silk, hemp and ramie); Obanseak - technique and designs of bojagi colours and symbolism; Colour Seams and Embellishments; and Jagokbo - textiles pieced from tiny scraps.

A beautiful book that offers textile artists and quilters a range of ideas to use i their own work. As with the obsession with Shibori, this technique brings one of the East's most creative textiles to a Western audience for the first time.


AUTHOR: Sara Cook is a textile artist, teacher, and judge who established the Patchwork and Quilting courses at the Brighton Fashion and Textile School. She regularly contributes to articles for magazines, has worked as technical editor for several quilting books, and is a qualified Quilt Judge at the Quilt Festival. She regularly attends the Korean Bojagi Forum in Seoul, where she is having a solo exhibition of her work and giving a lecture.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £22.95
£17.11
(You save £5.84 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781849945219
ISBN13:
9781849945219
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Author:
Sara Cook
Publisher:
Batsford Ltd
Publication:
22-Aug-2019
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
128
Weight:
780 Grams
Autumn Hunting, An cover photo

Autumn Hunting, An [9781786482389]

'Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation' Anthony Horowitz'Just keeps getting better . . . buy the whole series right away' Pe…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
The Second Sleep cover photo

The Second Sleep [9781786331373]

From the bestselling author of Fatherland. 1468. A young priest, Christopher Fairfax, arrives in a remote Exmoor village to conduct the funeral of hi…

rrp: £20.00
£15.30
Not currently available.
Ambulance Girls At War cover photo

Ambulance Girls At War [9781785034657]

Young Maisie Halliday has escaped the grinding poverty of the northern town where she was born to live in the glittering world of professional dancing…

rrp: £6.99
£6.13
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
A Widow's Hope cover photo

A Widow's Hope [9781529400700]

A gripping saga about guilt, secrets and an enduring love from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.I…

rrp: £20.99
£18.98
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days