Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£10.66
(You save £4.33 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List

Black Cake [9780241529928]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Crossing continents and juggling lives, Black Cake is a powerful story of love and loss, kinship and separation, heartache and hope, spanning sixty years in the life of one family

Eleanor Bennett won't let her own death get in the way of the truth. So when her estranged children - Byron and Benny - reunite for her funeral in California, they discover a puzzling inheritance.

First, a voice recording in which everything Byron and Benny ever knew about their family is upended. Their mother narrates a tumultuous story about a headstrong young woman who escapes her island home under suspicion of murder, a story which cuts right to the heart of the rift that's separated Byron and Benny.

Second, a traditional Caribbean black cake made from a family recipe with a long history that Eleanor hopes will heal the wounds of the past.

Can Byron and Benny fulfil their mother's final request to 'share the black cake when the time is right'? Will Eleanor's revelations bring them back together or leave them feeling more lost than ever?

'I was instantly taken in by this multi-generational tale of identity, family, and the lifelong push and pull of home. This novel has a tremendous heart at its centre, and I felt its beat on every page. What an extraordinary debut' Mary Beth Keane, author of Ask Again, Yes


AUTHOR: Charmaine Wilkerson is an American writer who has lived in Jamaica and is based in Italy. A graduate of Barnard College and Stanford University, she is a former journalist whose award-winning short fiction has appeared in various magazines and anthologies. Black Cake is her first novel.

more
less
SKU:
9780241529928
ISBN13:
9780241529928
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Charmaine Wilkerson
Publisher:
Michael Joseph Ltd
Publication:
03-Feb-2022
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
400
Stock Status:
In stock
Weight:
512 Grams
When We Were Birds cover photo

When We Were Birds [9780241502792]

Mesmerising, mythic and timeless - the most unmissable debut novel of 2022 - for fans of Arundhati Roy, Toni Morrison and Monique RoffeyDarwin is a do…

rrp: £14.99
£11.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
I, Mona Lisa cover photo

I, Mona Lisa [9781529151299]

Listen to my history. My adventures are worth hearing. I have lived many lifetimes and been loved by emperors, kings and thieves. I have survived kidn…

rrp: £14.99
£11.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Winchelsea cover photo

Winchelsea [9781838854843]

The year is 1742. Goody Brown, saved from drowning and adopted when just a babe, has grown up happily in the smuggling town of Winchelsea. Then, when …

rrp: £14.99
£11.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
House of Sky and Breath  cover photo

House of Sky and Breath [9781408884423]

Sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller. Sarah J. Maas's sexy, groundbreaking CRESCENT CITY series continues with this second installment. Bryce Q…

rrp: £16.99
£12.24
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Open Water cover photo

Open Water [9780241448786]

A stunning, shattering debut novel about two Black British artists falling in and out of love - available for pre-order now'A love song to black art a…

rrp: £8.99
£7.04
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Ulysses cover photo

Ulysses [9780241552636]

AUTHOR: James Joyce was born in Dublin on 2 February 1882, the eldest of ten children in a family which, after brief prosperity, collapsed into povert…

rrp: £20.00
£14.26
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
To Paradise cover photo

To Paradise [9781529077476]

From Hanya Yanagihara, author of the modern classic A Little Life, To Paradise is a bold, brilliant novel spanning three centuries and …

rrp: £20.00
£13.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.