This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Year on a Dairy Farm [9781445648460]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
New House Farm is a small dairy farm of 140 acres in Tytherington, Gloucestershire. Run by Bill Cornock and his sons, Richard and Tom, it has been in the family since 1822. In a beautiful and diverse collection of photographs, A Year on a Dairy Farm faithfully captures the day-to-day workings of a family-run farm in the South Gloucestershire countryside. Milking and calving cows, planting trees, laying hedges, ploughing fields, planting maize, making hay, picking fruit - these are just some of the sundry activities that make up the farming year. A Year on a Dairy Farm is a very personal book - all the photographs were taken by the author as he worked on his land - but one with broad appeal, documenting with affection and good humour the rhythms and experiences of farming through the changing seasons. Revealing the characters that make it all happen, and the animals that are the farm's lifeblood, it illustrates with colour and vitality the hard work and rewards of an honest vocation practised in the midst of nature's beauty.
AUTHOR: Richard Cornock has spent most of his life at New House Farm. After school he went to Hartpury College where he did an O.N.D. in Agriculture and was involved with the Young Farmers. He then went travelling around the world before settling down at New House. He lives in Thornbury.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £16.99
£16.56
(You save £0.43 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781445648460
ISBN13:
9781445648460
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Richard Cornock
Publisher:
Amberley Publishing
Publication:
15-Aug-2015
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
128
Weight:
433 Grams
A Year in the Life of Medieval England cover photo

A Year in the Life of Medieval England [9781445652399]

The medieval era is often associated with dynastic struggles, gruesome wars and the formidable influence of the Church. But what about the everyday ex…

rrp: £20.00
£18.86
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Diary of a Shropshire Farmer: A Young Yeoman's Life and Travels 1835-37 cover photo

The Diary of a Shropshire Farmer: A Young Yeoman's Life and Travels 1835-37 [9781445600130]

Not many young farmers of the early nineteenth century left diaries that have come down to us, still fewer from Shropshire, at a time when country lif…

rrp: £18.99
£18.09
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Agriculture at a Crossroads: Synthesis Report cover photo

Agriculture at a Crossroads: Synthesis Report [9781597265508]

The Synthesis Report integrates key findings from the Global Report and Sub-Global Assessments, providing in-depth analyses of current conditions, ch…

rrp: £18.99
£18.09
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Light Airplane and Glider Static and Dynamic Stability: Aircraft manoeuvrability, basic theory and caluclations cover photo

Light Airplane and Glider Static and Dynamic Stability: Aircraft manoeuvrability, basic theory and caluclations [9788875652173]

Serious errors can occur in aircraft safety with a badly designed aircraft. Prepared for the use of students and amateur designers this book, in both …

rrp: £18.95
£18.06
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Improving Prospect? A History of Agricultural Change in Cumbria, An cover photo

Improving Prospect? A History of Agricultural Change in Cumbria, An [9781445655550]

Cumbria is a very varied county with coastal plains, river valleys, the Pennine edge and the Lakeland fells. It has a strong sense of cohesion and com…

rrp: £17.99
£16.50
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Poles Apart: A Study in Contrasts cover photo

Poles Apart: A Study in Contrasts [9780776604978]

Poles Apart covers a range of themes about the Arctic and Antarctic, including the geography, glaciology and glacial history, ecology, living resourc…

rrp: £17.99
£17.33
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Bees & Honey cover photo

Bees & Honey [9780754828570]

The beekeeping book guides you all the way from choosing and obtaining your bees, housing them and maintaining the hive through the year, to dealing w…

rrp: £16.99
£16.56
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Science, Seeds and Cyborgs: Biotechnology and the Appropriation of Life cover photo

Science, Seeds and Cyborgs: Biotechnology and the Appropriation of Life [9781859846872]

Molecular biology is the queen of modern science, a leading force in the new knowledge economy, and a competitor to the explanatory power of the arts …

rrp: £19.00
£15.86
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Young Person's Guide to the Gothic cover photo

A Young Person's Guide to the Gothic [9781908041067]

This is the book for everyone who loves modern Gothic and wants to know where the vampires, ghouls, haunted houses and zombies all began. It takes eac…

rrp: £16.00
£13.86
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Year of Chasing Love cover photo

A Year of Chasing Love [9780008364762]

A delightfully uplifting debut from Rosie Chambers, coming soon! Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Philippa Ashley and Caroli…

rrp: £8.99
£7.79
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days