Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £8.99
£8.45
(You save £0.54 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Add to Wish List

A Widow's Courage: Birch End Series 2 [9781473677852]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Lancashire 1934. Three years after her husband's sudden death, Stella comes into some money unexpectedly and decides to make a new start in the country. She settles on Ellin Valley, where she quickly begins to make friends. She falls in love with a cottage in Birch End, but an unscrupulous man wants it too. Will she be able to buy her dream home?

Life has changed drastically for local handyman Wilf Pollard as well. When tragedy strikes, Wilf is left as the only support of his two young children. But his friends rally round to help so that he can pull his life together and take up an exciting new job with a well-respected builder.

Some of the local council are eager to deal with the squalid conditions of the Backshaw Moss slum, but others will stop at nothing to keep their profitable rents. And Stella's dream cottage is threatened by their plans to build yet more cheap housing. Can Stella, Wilf and the residents of Birch End pull together to make sure good triumphs over evil?

Readers are loving the Birch End series!

'Amazing' - 5 STARS

'Thank you, Anna, for the pleasure you give in all your books' - 5 STARS

'Another brilliant, hard-to-put-down book' - 5 STARS

'Can't wait for the next instalment' - 5 STARS

'A real page turner, I can't wait to read the next one' - 5 STARS

'Another triumph for Anna Jacobs' - 5 STARS

'BRILLIANT READ' - 5 STARS


AUTHOR:

Anna Jacobs grew up in Lancashire and emigrated to Australia, but still visits the UK regularly to see her family and do research, something she loves. She is addicted to writing and figures she'll have to live to be 120 at least to tell all the stories that keep popping up in her imagination and nagging her to write them down.
She's also addicted to her own hero, to whom she's been happily married for many years.

She is the bestselling author of over sixty novels and has been shortlisted for several awards. Pride of Lancashire won the Australian Romantic Book of the Year Award in 2006, and The Trader's Wife is on the shortlist for the 2012 award.
You can find out more on her website, www.annajacobs.com or on her Facebook page, www.facebook.com/Anna.Jacobs.Books.

more
less
SKU:
9781473677852
ISBN13:
9781473677852
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Author:
Anna Jacobs
Publisher:
Hodder Paperback
Publication:
17-Sep-2020
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
368
Weight:
257 Grams
A Lancashire Lass cover photo

A Lancashire Lass [9781787463592]

THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE INSPIRATIONAL MILL TOWN LASSES SERIES. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Catherine Cookson.______________________Lancashire, 18…

rrp: £6.99
£6.57
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
A Wartime Wish cover photo

A Wartime Wish [9781409178521]

One wish could change their fate . . .Covent Garden, 1944. With the mini Blitz bringing danger to the streets of London, best friends Sukie and Pattie…

rrp: £7.99
£7.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
Rag-and-Bone Christmas cover photo

Rag-and-Bone Christmas [9780008287870]

Paradise Row, London. December 1865. Snow is falling fast and Sally Suggs is working tirelessly to bring in enough money to keep bread on the table. …

rrp: £7.99
£7.18
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The London Noisy Bus cover photo

The London Noisy Bus [9781509829040]

Young children will love to press the beep-beep sound button as they journey through the sights of London on the iconic open top bus. Press the bee…

rrp: £7.99
£7.36
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days