Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £8.99
£7.23
(You save £1.76 )
Availability:
Not currently available.

A View from the Bridge [9780141189963]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Arthur Miller's play A View from the Bridge is a tragic masterpiece of the inexorable unravelling of a man, set in a close-knit Italian-American community in 1950s New York. Eddie Carbone is a longshoreman and a straightforward man, with a strong sense of decency and of honour. For Eddie, it's a privilege to take in his wife's cousins, Marco and Rodolpho, straight off the boat from Italy. But, as his niece Catherine begins to fall for one of them, it's clear that it's not just, as Eddie claims, that he's too strange, too sissy, too careless for her, but that something bigger, deeper is wrong - and wrong inside Eddie, in a way he can't face. Something which threatens the happiness of their whole family. This Penguin Classics edition includes an introduction by the author and a new foreword by actor Philip Seymour Hoffman.
AUTHOR: American dramatist Arthur Miller was born in New York City in 1915. In 1938 Miller won awards for his comedy The Grass Still Grows. His major achievement was Death of a Salesman, which won the 1949 Pulitzer Prize for drama and the 1949 New York Drama Critics' Circle Award. The Crucible was aimed at the widespread congressional investigation of subversive activities in the US; the drama won the 1953 Tony Award. Miller's autobiography, Timebends: A Life was published in 1987.
more
less
SKU:
9780141189963
ISBN13:
9780141189963
Availability:
Not currently available.
Author:
Arthur Miller
Publisher:
Penguin Classics
Publication:
25-Mar-2010
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
112
Weight:
800 Grams
A View from a Broad cover photo

A View from a Broad [9781476773551]

With her brassy voice and bold performances making the world finally pay attention, Sophie Von Haselberg, the ambitious Jewish girl from Hawaii, embar…

rrp: £25.00
£24.61
Not currently available.
A Treasury of Songs cover photo

A Treasury of Songs [9781509846139]

As well as being the UK's most successful picture book author, Julia Donaldson is a gifted songwriter for children. A Treasury of Songs contains over …

rrp: £9.99
£9.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
A Visit to America cover photo

A Visit to America [9781781550328]

In 1934, at the peak of the Great Depression, A. G. Macdonell embarked on a journey across America. This travelogue is the deliciously scathing produc…

rrp: £12.99
£10.90
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
A View Across the Mersey cover photo

A View Across the Mersey [9781472236333]

A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY by Anne Baker is a dramatic Liverpool family saga sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews. The y…

rrp: £19.99
£18.21
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
A World of Information cover photo

A World of Information [9781406370843]

This visually stunning miscellany from the effortlessly stylish print-maker James Brown is a collection of incredible facts and figures. Do you know h…

rrp: £15.00
£13.50
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Walking Shadow cover photo

A Walking Shadow [9780719827426]

A Walking Shadow introduces Detective Inspector Gilbert Markham and his teacher girlfriend Olivia Mullen. After two skeletons are discovered in the gr…

rrp: £19.99
£18.86
Not currently available.