Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£11.19
(You save £3.80 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List

A Terrible Kindness [9780571368297]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Tonight nineteen-year-old William Lavery is dressed for success, his first black-tie do. It's the Midlands Chapter of the Institute of Embalmers Ladies' Night Dinner Dance, and William is taking Gloria in her sequined evening gown. He can barely believe his luck. 

But as the guests sip their drinks and smoke their post-dinner cigarettes a telegram delivers news of a tragedy. An event so terrible it will shake the nation. It is October 1966 and a landslide at a coal mine has buried a school: Aberfan. 

William decides he must act, so he stands and volunteers to attend. It will be his first job, and will be - although he's yet to know it - a choice that threatens to sacrifice his own happiness. His work that night will force him to think about the little boy he was, and the losses he has worked so hard to bury. 

But compassion can have surprising consequences, because - as William discovers - giving so much to others can sometimes help us heal ourselves. 

     


AUTHOR: Jo Browning Wroe grew up in a crematorium in Birmingham. She has an MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia and is now Creative Writing Supervisor at Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge. Her debut novel, A Terrible Kindness, was shortlisted for the Bridport Peggy Chapman-Andrews award. She has two adult daughters and lives with her husband in Cambridge.

more
less
SKU:
9780571368297
ISBN13:
9780571368297
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Jo Browning Wroe
Publisher:
Faber & Faber
Publication:
20-Jan-2022
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
400
Chart Position:
3150
Stock Status:
In stock
Weight:
510 Grams
The Anomaly cover photo

The Anomaly [9780241540480]

WINNER OF THE PRIX GONCOURT. 1 MILLION COPIES SOLD. AN INTERNATIONAL PHENOMENON.One flight. One impossible event. Countless lives changed forever...Ev…

rrp: £14.99
£10.88
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Wahala: Set to be the most talked-about book of 2022 cover photo

Wahala [9780857527783]

*** We have limited numbers of signed copies of this incredible new book! *** SEX AND THE CITY with a killer edge for fans of QUEENIE, EXPE…

rrp: £14.99
£10.68
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
To Paradise cover photo

To Paradise [9781529077476]

From Hanya Yanagihara, author of the modern classic A Little Life, To Paradise is a bold, brilliant novel spanning three centuries and …

rrp: £20.00
£13.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Maid cover photo

The Maid [9780008435721]

I am your maid. I know about your secrets. Your dirty laundry. But what do you know about me? Molly the maid is all alone in the world. A nobody. S…

rrp: £14.99
£11.11
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Hare House cover photo

Hare House [9781529061635]

Sally Hinchcliffe's Hare House is a modern-day witch story, perfect for fans of Pine and The Loney. Hare House is not its real name, of course. I hav…

rrp: £14.99
£10.62
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Twyford Code cover photo

The Twyford Code [9781788165310]

It's time to solve the murder of the century... Forty years ago, Steven Smith found a copy of a famous children's book, its margins full of strange…

rrp: £14.99
£11.98
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.