This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

January Sale NOW ON!
Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0
Sale

A Place to Call Home [9780593078495]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Ellen thought she'd always live in the remote, pretty coastal village where she grew up. After all, her husband, Harry, works on a farm where he's guaranteed a job and home for life. But when the old landowner dies and the couple and their young children are forced from their cottage, the future is suddenly bleak.

Rather than stay - and starve - in the countryside they love, Harry sets out to find a job in the factories and mills of nearby Hull, and Ellen must leave behind everything she's ever known to follow her husband and build a new life for her family on the unfamiliar city streets.

The road ahead is full of hardships and challenges. But with love and determination, they make the best of things, forging friendships with other newcomers and refugees; even helping them to succeed in their new surroundings.

Then tragedy threatens Ellen's fragile happiness. How much more can she sacrifice before they find a place to call home?

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for readers of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin.
AUTHOR: Since winning the Catherine Cookson Prize for Fiction for her first novel, The Hungry Tide, Val Wood has become one of the most popular authors in the UK. Born in the mining town of Castleford, Val came to East Yorkshire as a child and has lived in Hull and rural Holderness where many of her novels are set.

She now lives in the market town of Beverley. When she is not writing, Val is busy promoting libraries and supporting many charities. In 2017 she was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Hull for service and dedication to literature. Find out more about Val Wood's novels by visiting her website: www.valeriewood.co.uk

more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £18.99
£12.55
Now: £8.00
(You save £10.99 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780593078495
ISBN13:
9780593078495
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Val Wood
Publisher:
Bantam Press
Publication:
29-Nov-2018
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
352
Weight:
562 Grams
A Place to Call Home cover photo

A Place to Call Home [9780552173926]

Ellen thought she'd always live in the remote, pretty coastal village where she grew up. After all, her husband, Harry, works on a farm where he's gua…

rrp: £6.99
£6.56
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Pinch of Magic cover photo

A Pinch of Magic [9781471124297]

'A SPELL-BINDING STORY, STEEPED IN MAGIC. I ADORED IT' - Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song Three sisters trapped by an ancient curse. Three magical …

£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Poem for Every Day of the Year cover photo

A Poem for Every Day of the Year [9781509860548]

A Poem for Every Day of the Year is an outstanding collection of 366 poems, one to share on every day of the year. These poems are funny, thoughtful, …

rrp: £16.99
£11.05
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Place to Call Home cover photo

A Place to Call Home [9781406337778]

This is the story of a band of seven furry brothers. They live in a nice, safe, warm home - a very small hole. Yet as they grow up they become too big…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Pinch of Salt cover photo

A Pinch of Salt [9781785762246]

'He saw the intelligence in her eyes and the beauty and strength of character in her face . . . ' Since the death of her mother, Kate Kennedy has …

rrp: £6.99
£6.48
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Poem for Every Night of the Year cover photo

A Poem for Every Night of the Year [9781509813131]

A Poem For Every Night of the Year is a magnificent collection of 366 poems compiled by Allie Esiri, one to share for every night of the year. The poe…

rrp: £16.99
£11.86
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Reaper at the Gates cover photo

A Reaper at the Gates [9780008288792]

The highly anticipated third book in Sabaa Tahir's New York Times bestselling Ember Quartet. Beyond the Empire and within it, the threat of…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A New Landlord and Tenant cover photo

A New Landlord and Tenant [9781841130231]

This book is designed to complement the author's A New Land Law,integrating with that work in its simplified terminology, and emphasising a three-fold…

rrp: £54.99
£48.86
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Short History Of Myth cover photo

A Short History Of Myth [9781782118909]

As long as we have been human, we have been mythmakers. In A Short History of Myth, Karen Armstrong holds up the mirror of mythology to show us the hi…

rrp: £9.99
£6.58
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Nest of Vipers cover photo

A Nest of Vipers [9781447265986]

A Nest of Vipers is the twenty-first novel in Andrea Camilleri's irresistible Inspector Montalbano series. Quite a family, you had to admit! A nest o…

rrp: £16.99
£15.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days