Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£8.32
(You save £1.67 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List

A Murder of Quality [9780141196374]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Features a murder mystery in the finest tradition of English detective novels, John le Carre's A Murder of Quality is an ingenious puzzle featuring his best-loved character George Smiley, published in Penguin Modern Classics. Stella Rode has twice disturbed the ancient cloisters of Carne School: firstly by being the wrong sort, with her doilies and china ducks, and secondly by being murdered. George Smiley, who has his own connection with the school, is asked by an old Service friend to investigate. Smiley knows that Stella feared her husband would murder her, but as he probes further beneath Carne's respectable veneer, he uncovers far more than a simple crime of passion. In his second George Smiley novel, le Carre moves outside the world of espionage to reveal the secrets at the heart of another particularly English institution. The result is a pitch-perfect murder mystery, with Smiley as master detective. If you enjoyed A Murder of Quality, you might like le Carre's Call for the Dead, also available in Penguin Modern Classics. Beautifully intelligent, satiric and witty. (Daily Telegraph).
more
less
SKU:
9780141196374
ISBN13:
9780141196374
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
Author:
John le Carre
Publisher:
Penguin Classics
Publication:
26-May-2011
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
192
Stock Status:
Available to order
Weight:
145 Grams
Call for the Dead [9780141198286]

Call for the Dead [9780141198286]

After a routine security check by George Smiley, civil servant Samuel Fennan apparently kills himself. When Smiley finds Circus head Maston is trying …

rrp: £9.99
£8.32
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
A Mother's Sacrifice cover photo

A Mother's Sacrifice [9780008191672]

**A gritty and emotional family drama, from the Sunday Times bestseller. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.** BEATEN Glenda Jenkins h…

rrp: £9.99
£9.39
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
A Mother's Secret cover photo

A Mother's Secret [9780099538837]

When seventeen-year-old Belinda Phillips falls in love with a handsome Anglo-Indian officer, she knows that he is a man she can never hope to marry. W…

rrp: £8.99
£8.82
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
A.N.T.I.D.O.T.E. cover photo

A.N.T.I.D.O.T.E. [9780552551687]

It's just your average Friday night. Then the police show up. Your mum's been caught on CCTV, breaking into a giant chemical company. They say she's w…

rrp: £6.99
£6.40
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
A Nantucket Christmas cover photo

A Nantucket Christmas [9781472215956]

New York Times bestseller Nancy Thayer returns with a captivating family Christmas tale. For readers who love Santa Montefiore and Barbara Delinsky.…

rrp: £10.99
£10.37
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 4-8 Working Days
A Perfect Spy cover photo

A Perfect Spy [9780241322482]

'The best English novel since the war' Philip Roth Magnus Pym - ranking diplomat, consummate Englishman, loving husband, secret agent - has vanishe…

rrp: £9.99
£8.99
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Monster Calls cover photo

A Monster Calls [9781406339345]

The monster showed up just after midnight. As they do. But it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting. He's been expecting the one from his nightmare…

rrp: £9.99
£9.14
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
A Naturalist's Shetland cover photo

A Naturalist's Shetland [9780856611056]

One of Britain's natural treasures, the Shetland Islands are spectacular with their varied geology, wonderful landscape, and special flora and fauna. …

rrp: £45.00
£40.29
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 5-10 Working Days
The Sanatorium cover photo

The Sanatorium [9781787633315]

EVERYONE'S IN DANGER. ANYONE COULD BE NEXT. An imposing, isolated hotel, high up in the Swiss Alps, is the last place Elin Warner wants to be. But sh…

rrp: £12.99
£9.69
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.