This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Home in the Barn [9780066237879]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

An Indie Next List Pick!

A glorious tribute to Brown's timeless classic. -Booklist (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Goodnight Moon, The Runaway Bunny, and Big Red Barn, this never-before-published picture book from beloved children's book author Margaret Wise Brown tells the comforting, snowy story of animals seeking shelter from the cold in a big warm barn.

Brought to beautiful life by Caldecott Medalist and multiple award winner Jerry Pinkney, this is a must-have for every child's library and is perfect for cozy wintertime readings.

Outside in the cold, hear the wind rattle, come to the barn, keep warm with the cattle...


AUTHOR: Margaret Wise Brown, cherished for her unique ability to convey a child's experience and perspective of the world, transformed the landscape of children's literature with such beloved classics as Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny. Other perennial favorites by Ms. Brown include My World; Christmas in the Barn; The Dead Bird; North, South, East, West; and Good Day, Good Night. Jerry Pinkney is one of America's most admired children's book illustrators. He has won the Caldecott Medal and five Caldecott Honors, five Coretta Scott King Awards, the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, the Society of Illustrators' Original Art Show Lifetime Achievement Award, and many other prizes and honors. Jerry Pinkney lives with his wife, author Gloria Jean Pinkney, in Westchester County, New York. You can visit him online at www.jerrypinkneystudio.com. In His Own Words... I grew up in a small house in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I was a middle child of six. I started drawing as far back as I can remember, at the age of four or five. My brothers drew, and I guess in a way I was mimicking them. I found I enjoyed the act of putting marks on paper. It gave me a way of creating my own space and quiet time, as well as a way of expressing myself. You can imagine six children competing for attention and to be heard. I would sit, watching and drawing. In first grade I had the opportunity to draw a large picture of a fire engine on the blackboard. I was complimented and encouraged to draw more. The attention felt good, and I wanted more. I was not a terrific reader or adept speller in my growing-up years, and I felt insecure in those areas. Drawing helped me build my self-esteem and feel good about myself, and, with hard work, I graduated from elementary school with honors. I attended an all-black elementary school, and I gained a strong sense of self and an appreciation of my own culture there. But Roosevelt Junior High was integrated. There I had many friends, both white and black, at a time when there was little mixing socially in school. There the spark for my curiosity about people was lit. You can see this interest and fascination with people of different cultures throughout my work. My formal art training started at Dobbins Vocational High School, and upon graduation I received a scholarship to the Philadelphia Museum College of Art. My major was advertising and design. The most exciting classes for me were drawing, painting, and printmaking. It is no wonder I turned to illustrating and designing books. For me the book represents the ultimate in graphics: first, as a designer, considering space, page size, number of pages, and type size; then, as an illustrator, dealing with the aesthetics of line, color, and form. There were three books that somehow magically came into my possession in the early sixties: The Wind in the Willows, illustrated by Arthur Rackham; The Wonder Clock, illustrated by Howard Pyle; and Rain Makes Applesauce, illustrated by Marvin Bileck. You can see those influences in my art today. Later, my work was greatly influenced by such African American artists as Charles White, Romare Bearden, and Jacob Lawrence. From the very beginning of my career in illustrating books, research has been important. I do as much as possible on a given subject, so that I live the experience and have a vision of the people and places. To capture a sense of realism for characters in my work, I use models that resemble the people I want to portray. My wife, Gloria Jean (also an author), and I keep a closetful of old clothes to dress up the models, and I have the models act out the story. Photos are taken to aid me in better understanding body language and facial expressions. Once I have that photo in front of me I have freedom, because the more you know, the more you can be inventive. For illustrating stories about animals, I keep a large reference file of over a hundred books on nature and animals. The first step in envisioning a creature is for me to pretend to be that particular animal. I think about its size and the sounds it makes, how it moves (slowly or quickly), and where it lives. I try to capture the feeling of the creature, as well as its true-to-life characteristics. There are times when the stories call for the animals to be anthropomorphic, and I've used photographs of myself posing as the animal characters. It still amazes me how much the projects I have illustrated have given back to me in terms of personal and artistic satisfaction. They have given me the opportunity to use my imagination, to draw, to paint, to travel through the voices of the characters in the stories, and, above all else, to touch children.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £12.99
£12.88
(You save £0.11 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780066237879
UPC:
9780066237879
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Margaret Wise Brown
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Publication:
18-Oct-2018
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
32
A Hug Is for Holding Me cover photo

A Hug Is for Holding Me [9781419728266]

A Hug Is for Holding Me is a sweet, cozy book about love and affection and invites children to engage with the natural world in a fresh, new way. Some…

rrp: £10.99
£9.41
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Warriors Super Edition: Tigerheart's Shadow cover photo

Warriors Super Edition: Tigerheart's Shadow [9780062467744]

An epic stand-alone adventure in Erin Hunter's #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series! Also includes an exclusive ten-page Warriors manga adventure…

rrp: £6.99
£6.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man cover photo

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man [9781350096820]

The spiritual rebellion of Stephen Dedalus and his restless search for self-expression is brought to life in a thrilling theatrical adaptation by Arth…

rrp: £10.99
£10.44
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Absolutely Remarkable Thing, An cover photo

Absolutely Remarkable Thing, An [9781473224186]

IF YOU CAME ACROSS AN ABSOLUTELY REMARKABLE THINGAT 3 A.M. IN NEW YORK CITY . . .WOULD YOU KEEP WALKING?OR DO THE ONE THING THAT WOULD CHANGE YOUR LIF…

rrp: £14.99
£12.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A History of Pictures for Children cover photo

A History of Pictures for Children [9780500651414]

A History of Pictures for Children takes readers on a journey through art history, from early art drawn on cave walls to the images we make today on o…

rrp: £14.95
£14.38
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A New History of Modern Architecture cover photo

A New History of Modern Architecture [9781786270573]

Combining a fascinating, thought-provoking and - above all - readable text with over 800 photographs, plans and sections, this exciting new reading of…

rrp: £29.99
£25.89
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A World History of Architecture cover photo

A World History of Architecture [9781780671116]

Updated with expanded coverage of twenty-first century architecture, this new edition uniquely comprises a detailed survey of Western architecture as …

rrp: £40.00
£33.56
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Fire Stallion cover photo

The Fire Stallion [9780008261412]

An enchanting and empowering standalone story from the author of The Princess and the Foal. Twelve-year-old Hilly has landed he…

rrp: £12.99
£12.88
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Baby Dragon: Finger Puppet Book cover photo

Baby Dragon: Finger Puppet Book [9781452170770]

Meet Baby Dragon! Where does Baby Dragon live? Is he finally ready to fly? Follow along as he explores his world and discovers his special powers! The…

rrp: £5.99
£5.69
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Baby Unicorn: Finger Puppet Book cover photo

Baby Unicorn: Finger Puppet Book [9781452170763]

Meet Baby Unicorn! What does Baby Unicorn find in the enchanted forest? Is she ready to use her healing magic? Follow along as she explores her world …

rrp: £5.99
£5.69
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days