This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A False Report [9781786330802]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
One of Stylist Magazine's 20 Must-Read Books of 2018 'I pretty much read A False Report in one sitting. It is deeply disturbing but brilliant. I hope it helps with the seismic shift needed in attitudes to women who are brave enough to come forward when they have been assaulted.' Sandi Toksvig Two Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists uncover the true story of Marie. She said she was raped; police said she lied. It was an easy case to close until two detectives cracked it back open. On 11 August 2008, eighteen-year-old Marie reported that a masked man had broken into her home and raped her. Within days, police - and even those closest to Marie - became suspicious of her story: details of the crime just didn't seem plausible. Confronted with the seeming inconsistencies, Marie broke down and said her story was a fabrication - a bid for attention. The police convicted her of making a false report. She was vilified as a liar. More than two years later, some 1,600 kilometres away, detective Stacy Galbraith was assigned to a case of sexual assault. It bore an eerie resemblance to a rape that had taken place months earlier in a nearby town. Galbraith contacted the detective on that case, Edna Hendershot, and they joined forces. Galbraith and Hendershot soon realised they were dealing with a serial rapist: a man who took calculated steps to erase all physical evidence, who photographed each of his victims, threatening to release the images online if the women went to the police. After weeks of meticulous investigation, they had a name. But they also had yet another victim - a young woman whose identity was a mystery, a possible missing link. It was imperative they find her. Based on investigative files and extensive interviews with those involved, A False Report is a serpentine tale of doubt, lies and a hunt for justice. It unveils the disturbing reality of how sexual assault is investigated and the long history of scepticism towards its victims. But it is also the story of two women whose determined resolve and detective brilliance finally brought the truth to light.
AUTHOR: T. Christian Miller (Author) T. Christian Miller joined ProPublica, the non-profit newsroom for investigative journalism, as a senior reporter in 2008. Before that, he worked for the Los Angeles Times, where he covered politics, wars, and was once kidnapped by leftist guerrillas in Colombia. His first book, Blood Money: Wasted Billions, Lost Lives, and Corporate Greed in Iraq, was called one of the indispensable books on the war. He teaches data journalism at the University of California at Berkeley and was a Knight Fellow at Stanford University.Ken Armstrong (Author) Ken Armstrong, joined ProPublica in 2017. He previously worked at the Marshall Project and Chicago Tribune, where his work helped prompt the Illinois governor to suspend executions and empty death row. His first book, Scoreboard, Baby, with Nick Perry, won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Non-Fiction. He has been the McGraw Professor of Writing at Princeton and a Nieman Fellow at Harvard. Both T. Christian Miller and Ken Armstrong have won numerous awards,including a 2016 Pulitzer Prize for their article 'An Unbelievable Story of Rape', on which A False Report is based. The rights to the dramatisationof this story have been acquired by Netflix.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £16.99
£8.70
(You save £8.29 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781786330802
ISBN13:
9781786330802
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
T. Christian Miller
Publisher:
Hutchinson
Publication:
06-Feb-2018
Format:
Hardback
Pages:
304
Weight:
532 Grams
A Fairy Treasury: The Ultimate Guide to the Enchanted Fairy Realm cover photo

A Fairy Treasury: The Ultimate Guide to the Enchanted Fairy Realm [9781788170840]

A Fairy Treasury is a comprehensive, insightful and magical guide to the world of the fae. You'll find a wealth of facts, real-life fairy stories, tip…

rrp: £12.99
£9.82
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Fact Has No Appearance cover photo

A Fact Has No Appearance [9789810984335]

The exhibition A Fact Has No Appearance explores the impact of new ideas on art in Southeast Asia during the 1970s through the case studies of three a…

rrp: £14.00
£13.65
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days

A Family Secret [9780007420001]

The new novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Josephine Cox - the master storyteller. Josephine Cox gets straight to the heartbreak and hope of f…

rrp: £14.99
£4.63
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Face Like Glass cover photo

A Face Like Glass [9781509868131]

'Everyone should read Frances Hardinge. Everyone. Right now.' Patrick NessA Face Like Glass is an astonishing and imaginative novel from the Costa Awa…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Family Scandal cover photo

A Family Scandal [9781847562470]

**A gritty and emotional family drama, from the Sunday Times bestseller. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.** You can never leave a b…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Feast for Crows cover photo

A Feast for Crows [9780008115432]

HBO's hit series A GAME OF THRONES is based on George R R Martin's internationally bestselling series A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE, the greatest fantasy epi…

rrp: £75.00
£60.35
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Far Away Magic cover photo

A Far Away Magic [9781509837755]

A Far Away Magic is the second stunning novel full of magic and friendship from Amy Wilson, author of A Girl Called Owl. When Angel moves to a new sch…

rrp: £6.99
£6.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Based on a True Story cover photo

Based on a True Story [9781408878804]

What would you do if your closest friend tried to steal your life? 'Combining the allure of Gone Girl with the sophistication of literary fiction, Ba…

rrp: £12.99
£5.27
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Fighting Chance cover photo

A Fighting Chance [9781925228083]

An unlikely political star tells us how Washington really works - and really doesn't. As a child in small-town Oklahoma, Elizabeth Warren yearned to g…

rrp: £16.99
£15.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Fabulous Liar cover photo

A Fabulous Liar [9781848878488]

Joschi Molnar is an enigma: father, Holocaust survivor, wit, and fabulous liar. After his death his three surviving children are left with contrasting…

rrp: £12.99
£12.88
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days