This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

'A Face Like a Chicken's Backside': An Unconventional Soldier in South East Asia, 1948-71 [9780750964371]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
The jungle can be seen as the environment closest to mankind's primaeval origins and the setting in which he, or most of his kind, is least at home. Conflicts in jungle regions pose unique problems and demand special soldiering skills. J.P. Cross was an officer with the Gurkhas for 38 years in Asia, 10 of them spent `under the jungle canopy'. There, he accrued a wealth of knowledge and experience, particularly in fighting against Communist revolutionaries, and went on to train other soldiers in the art of guerrilla warfare. From first-hand experience of company operations in the jungle, intertwined with fascinating elements from his own life story, J.P. Cross uses his unrivalled breadth of knowledge to impart a very personal account of armed conflict in the jungle. This volume offers the perfect blend of factual military history and the empathetic, subjective recollection of a skilled and internationally admired practitioner. Peppered with lucid and humorous comment, it will provide every reader with a new understanding of this very special military discipline.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: €16.33
€14.72
(You save €1.61 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780750964371
ISBN13:
9780750964371
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
J P Cross
Publisher:
The History Press Ltd
Publication:
04-Nov-2015
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
232
Weight:
400 Grams
'Conceal, Create, Confuse': Deception as a British Battlefield Tactic in the First World War cover photo

'Conceal, Create, Confuse': Deception as a British Battlefield Tactic in the First World War [9780752452739]

This is the story of the British Army's endeavours during the Great War to deceive the enemy and trick him into weakening his defences and redeploying…

rrp: €17.50
€14.52
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
'I mBeal an Bhais': The Great Famine and the Language Shift in Nineteenth-Century Ireland cover photo

'I mBeal an Bhais': The Great Famine and the Language Shift in Nineteenth-Century Ireland [9780990468677]

Ireland's Great Hunger Museum at Quinnipiac University publishes Famine Folios, a unique resource for students, scholars and researchers, as well as g…

rrp: €11.61
€10.91
Not currently available.
Geometrics 2020 Wall Calendar cover photo

Geometrics 2020 Wall Calendar [9781419737732]

Be trans?xed all year long by colorful abstract and geometric art. This mesmerizing 16-month calendar features 13 contemporary works by artists includ…

rrp: €15.16
€14.25
Not currently available.
100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Engaging Parents cover photo

100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Engaging Parents [9781472955203]

Parental engagement with children's learning is the best lever we have to raise achievement in schools. However, there is a gap between what is known …

rrp: €17.50
€15.01
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
The Food Allergy Mama's Easy, Fast Family Meals: Dairy, Egg, and Nut Free Recipes for Every Day cover photo

The Food Allergy Mama's Easy, Fast Family Meals: Dairy, Egg, and Nut Free Recipes for Every Day [9781583335000]

As the busy mother of five young children, Kelly Rudnicki faced a daily challenge when it came to feeding her family. Things got even more complicated…

rrp: €11.66
€10.10
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Egypt in Flux: Essays on an Unfinished Revolution cover photo

Egypt in Flux: Essays on an Unfinished Revolution [9789774165962]

No chapter in Egypt's contemporary history has been more turbulent and unpredictable than the past three years. In a very short period of time, the Ar…

rrp: €15.12
€14.21
Not currently available.
A Family Secret cover photo

A Family Secret [9781787463585]

The brand new novel from Libby Ashworth, set in the mill towns of Lancashire. Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson. ______________________Will she fo…

rrp: €9.33
€9.09
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 04-Feb-2021
A Family for Gracie cover photo

A Family for Gracie [9781420145700]

rrp: €8.16
€7.67
Not currently available.
A-dventure-Z The Story of the Alphabet cover photo

A-dventure-Z The Story of the Alphabet [9789652205315]

rrp: €19.83
€19.53
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Lifetime in Galapagos cover photo

A Lifetime in Galapagos [9781472976338]

A beautifully illustrated and personal chronicle of life on these spectacular islands. Featuring hundreds of breathtaking photographs, this stunn…

rrp: €46.69
€35.70
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days