This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

£3 Fiction Offers
Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Country to Call Home: An anthology on the experiences of young refugees and asylum seekers [9781783526048]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
From the editor of A Country of Refuge comes an anthology of new writing on one of the defining issues of our time. Focusing on the fate of refugee children and young adults, it is aimed at children and adult readers alike, and features work from Michael Morpurgo, Eoin Colfer, Kit de Waal and Simon Armitage among many others. There are tales of home, and missing it; poems about the dangerous journeys undertaken and life in the refugee camps; stories about prejudice, but also stories of children's fortitude, their dreams and aspirations. A Country to Call Home implores us to build bridges, not walls. It is intended as a reminder of our shared humanity, seeking to challenge the negative narratives that so often cloud our view of these vulnerable young people, and prevent us giving them the empathy they deserve. The book will include newly commissioned stories, flash fiction, poetry and original artwork from some of our finest children's writers: David Almond, Chris Riddell, Moniza Alvi, Sita Brahmachari, Peter Kalu, Judith Kerr, Patrice Lawrence, Anna Perera, the late Christine Pullein-Thompson, Bali Rai and S. F. Said.
AUTHOR: Lucy Popescu is a writer, editor and critic with a background in human rights. She was a director of English PEN from 1991 to 2006 and co-edited the PEN anthology, Another Sky in 2007, featuring the work of persecuted writers from around the world. The Good Tourist, her book about ethical travel and human rights, was published in 2008. In 2016 she published A Country of Refuge with Unbound.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£7.17
(You save £2.82 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781783526048
ISBN13:
9781783526048
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Lucy Popescu
Publisher:
Unbound
Publication:
31-May-2018
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
256
Weight:
181 Grams
A Creative Approach to Teaching Calculation cover photo

A Creative Approach to Teaching Calculation [9781472919472]

Calculations are the gateway to outstanding learning in mathematics, but many people struggle with the step-by-step procedures of calculation methods.…

rrp: £14.99
£13.74
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Country Doctor's Notebook cover photo

A Country Doctor's Notebook [9780099529569]

This title is translated by Michael Glenny. With the ink still wet on his diploma, the twenty-five-year-old Dr Mikhail Bulgakov was flung into the dep…

rrp: £7.99
£6.02
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Country Wedding cover photo

A Country Wedding [9781409160946]

The perfect comfort read, brimming with humour and heart, from bestseller Veronica Henry.'Veronica Henry writes like a dream' - Jill Mansell The Liddi…

£9.40
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Crash Course in Email Marketing for Small and Medium-Sized Businesses cover photo

A Crash Course in Email Marketing for Small and Medium-Sized Businesses [9781908003713]

Despite being one of the most mature online marketing technologies available to today's small and medium-sized business marketer, email marketing cont…

rrp: £9.99
£8.35
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Cook's Tour cover photo

A Cook's Tour [9780747558217]

Anthony Bourdain, life-long line cook and bestselling author of Kitchen Confidential , sets off to eat his way around the world. But being Anthony Bo…

rrp: £9.99
£8.61
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Cultural History of Food in the Age of Empire cover photo

A Cultural History of Food in the Age of Empire [9781474270038]

The nineteenth-century West saw extraordinary economic growth and cultural change. This volume explores and explains the birth of the modern world thr…

rrp: £24.99
£22.83
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Court of Thorns and Roses cover photo

A Court of Thorns and Roses [9781619634442]

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new s…

rrp: £14.99
£12.12
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Cornish Summer cover photo

A Cornish Summer [9781405940719]

Flora's been in love with her husband for twenty years. The trouble is, he's been married to someone else for the past fifteen . . . Now she's b…

rrp: £7.99
£7.59
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
A Cotswold Family Life cover photo

A Cotswold Family Life [9780751575576]

I have always loved the Cotswolds. I think I loved them even before I found them, in that half-formed ideal one has of where to put down roots. Somewh…

rrp: £14.99
£12.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Crimson Warning cover photo

A Crimson Warning [9781472108579]

Secrets prove deadly in the sixth Lady Emily mystery from New York Times bestselling author Tasha AlexanderNewly returned to her Mayfair home, Lady Em…

rrp: £8.99
£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days