This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

>> SUMMER SALE NOW ON<<
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Christmas Candle [9781784755232]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
******* Light up your life this Christmas with the BRAND NEW NOVEL from SUNDAY TIMES Number One Bestselling author KATIE FLYNN. 'One of the country's most popular storytellers' Scottish Daily Record ******** Will she find love in her wartime home? 1939. All over Britain children are being evacuated, and Eve Armstrong is headed for Devon. As the train pulls out of London she takes a last look at the crowded platform, the shabbily dressed evacuees, and a rude little boy sticking his tongue out. She's looking forward to a change of scene. And at first Eve is happier than ever at Drake's Farm. Not even her daily chores dampen her spirits. It's a different world that invites fresh starts, and so when Eve runs into the boy from the station, Johnny Durrell, they call a truce and soon become firm friends. The war might be a distant reality, but the arrival of new evacuee Connie Hale makes every day a battle. Connie is lazy, stuck up and spiteful - and Johnny's new best friend. As the conflict grows and Eve with it, will she fight for Johnny or concede defeat? Praise for Katie Flynn: 'A poignant war-time romance' Daily Express `A heartwarming story of love and loss' Woman's Weekly `One of the best Liverpool writers' Liverpool Echo 'If you pick up a Katie Flynn book it's going to be a wrench to put it down again' Holyhead and Anglesey Mail
AUTHOR: Katie Flynn has lived for many years in the north-west. A compulsive writer, she started with short stories and articles and many of her early stories were broadcast on Radio Merseyside. She decided to write her Liverpool series after hearing the reminiscences of family members about life in the city in the early years of the twentieth century. She also writes as Judith Saxton. For the past few years, she has had to cope with ME but has continued to write.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £6.99
£6.33
(You save £0.66 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781784755232
UPC:
9781784755232
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Katie Flynn
Publisher:
Arrow Books Ltd
Publication:
19-Oct-2017
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
368
A Child in Burracombe cover photo

A Child in Burracombe [9781409167327]

Return to Burracombe in this warm and charming prequel to Lilian Harry's Burracombe series and journey back to where it all began . . . Devon, 1943…

rrp: £8.99
£7.70
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel cover photo

The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel [9781501110474]

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the thought-provoking (Library Journal, starred review) and must-read (Pop…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia: A Tale of Secrets and Scandal Set in 1840s London from the Creator of Downton Abbey [9781474603546]

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is the story of a secret. A secret that unravels behind the porticoed doors of London's grandest postcode. Set in the 1840…

rrp: £8.99
£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Christmas Hope cover photo

A Christmas Hope [9780755397266]

London, 1868. As the Christmas season begins, Claudine Burroughs feels little joy in its endless social calls and extravagant events. Working at a cli…

rrp: £16.99
£13.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Christmas Escape cover photo

A Christmas Escape [9781472219510]

Set in Italy in 1866, A Christmas Escape is Anne Perry's 13th festive Victorian novella. December, 1866. Charles Latterly, Hester Monk's brother, tra…

rrp: £16.99
£13.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Century of Grimsby cover photo

A Century of Grimsby [9780750949194]

This fascinating selection of photographs illustrates the extraordinary transformation that has taken place in Grimsby during the 20th century. The bo…

rrp: £9.99
£9.49
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Chinese Life cover photo

A Chinese Life [9781906838553]

Li Kunwu's story is a personal one that is inextricably linked to his three decades as a propaganda artist for the Communist Party. We're taken on a j…

rrp: £16.99
£12.94
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Unsettled Dust cover photo

The Unsettled Dust [9780571311736]

Robert Aickman, the supreme master of the supernatural, brings together eight stories where strange things happen that the reader is unable to predic…

rrp: £8.99
£7.17
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Sale
The Story of a Nutcracker cover photo

The Story of a Nutcracker [9780099596059]

Discover the real story behind the famous Nutcracker Christmas ballet, as told by Alexandre Dumas `How could you imagine, silly child, that this toy,…

rrp: £6.99
£5.78
Now: £3.00
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Geronimo Cover Photo

Geronimo [9780008279752]

Meet Geronimo – the baby penguin who has one dream and one dream only – and that is to fly! But everyone knows penguins can’t …

rrp: £12.99
£7.93
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.