This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

January Sale NOW ON!
Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Christmas Candle [9781784755232]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
******* Light up your life this Christmas with the BRAND NEW NOVEL from SUNDAY TIMES Number One Bestselling author KATIE FLYNN. 'One of the country's most popular storytellers' Scottish Daily Record ******** Will she find love in her wartime home? 1939. All over Britain children are being evacuated, and Eve Armstrong is headed for Devon. As the train pulls out of London she takes a last look at the crowded platform, the shabbily dressed evacuees, and a rude little boy sticking his tongue out. She's looking forward to a change of scene. And at first Eve is happier than ever at Drake's Farm. Not even her daily chores dampen her spirits. It's a different world that invites fresh starts, and so when Eve runs into the boy from the station, Johnny Durrell, they call a truce and soon become firm friends. The war might be a distant reality, but the arrival of new evacuee Connie Hale makes every day a battle. Connie is lazy, stuck up and spiteful - and Johnny's new best friend. As the conflict grows and Eve with it, will she fight for Johnny or concede defeat? Praise for Katie Flynn: 'A poignant war-time romance' Daily Express `A heartwarming story of love and loss' Woman's Weekly `One of the best Liverpool writers' Liverpool Echo 'If you pick up a Katie Flynn book it's going to be a wrench to put it down again' Holyhead and Anglesey Mail
AUTHOR: Katie Flynn has lived for many years in the north-west. A compulsive writer, she started with short stories and articles and many of her early stories were broadcast on Radio Merseyside. She decided to write her Liverpool series after hearing the reminiscences of family members about life in the city in the early years of the twentieth century. She also writes as Judith Saxton. For the past few years, she has had to cope with ME but has continued to write.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £6.99
£5.62
(You save £1.37 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781784755232
ISBN13:
9781784755232
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Katie Flynn
Publisher:
Arrow Books Ltd
Publication:
19-Oct-2017
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
368
Weight:
262 Grams
A Christmas Carol cover photo

A Christmas Carol [9780008296452]

HarperCollins is proud to present its incredible range of best-loved, essential classics. Charles Dickens's classic tale of miserly Ebe…

rrp: £6.99
£6.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Child in Burracombe cover photo

A Child in Burracombe [9781409167327]

Return to Burracombe in this warm and charming prequel to Lilian Harry's Burracombe series and journey back to where it all began . . . Devon, 1943…

rrp: £8.99
£7.70
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel cover photo

The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel [9781501110474]

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the thought-provoking (Library Journal, starred review) and must-read (Pop…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Century of Grimsby cover photo

A Century of Grimsby [9780750949194]

This fascinating selection of photographs illustrates the extraordinary transformation that has taken place in Grimsby during the 20th century. The bo…

rrp: £9.99
£8.82
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Christmas Carol cover photo

A Christmas Carol [9781840023992]

Using only Charles Dickens' extraordinary words and a chameleon ensemble of eight actors, Neil Bartlett's A Christmas Carol brings a boldly theatric…

rrp: £9.99
£9.49
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Christmas Carol cover photo

A Christmas Carol [9780241331606]

Part of a beautiful collection of hardcover classics, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith. A Christmas Carol has had an enduring infl…

rrp: £14.99
£9.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Boy Mole Fox and The Horse cover photo

The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse [9781529105100]

The Sunday Times Bestseller and New York Times Bestseller. A book of hope for uncertain times. Enter the world of Charlie's four characters and unli…

rrp: £16.99
£10.25
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Boogie Bear cover photo

Boogie Bear [9780008172787]

From Number One bestselling author David Walliams comes a hilarious and heartwarming picture book, brilliantly illustrated by the artistic genius, Ton…

rrp: £6.99
£6.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Unsettled Dust cover photo

The Unsettled Dust [9780571311736]

Robert Aickman, the supreme master of the supernatural, brings together eight stories where strange things happen that the reader is unable to predic…

rrp: £8.99
£7.17
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Choice of Shakespeare's Verse cover photo

A Choice of Shakespeare's Verse [9780571233793]

For this new edition, first published in 1971, Ted Hughes augmented his original selection of Shakespeare's poems and dramatic speeches and completely…

rrp: £9.99
£7.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days