This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Christmas Candle [9781784755232]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
******* Light up your life this Christmas with the BRAND NEW NOVEL from SUNDAY TIMES Number One Bestselling author KATIE FLYNN. 'One of the country's most popular storytellers' Scottish Daily Record ******** Will she find love in her wartime home? 1939. All over Britain children are being evacuated, and Eve Armstrong is headed for Devon. As the train pulls out of London she takes a last look at the crowded platform, the shabbily dressed evacuees, and a rude little boy sticking his tongue out. She's looking forward to a change of scene. And at first Eve is happier than ever at Drake's Farm. Not even her daily chores dampen her spirits. It's a different world that invites fresh starts, and so when Eve runs into the boy from the station, Johnny Durrell, they call a truce and soon become firm friends. The war might be a distant reality, but the arrival of new evacuee Connie Hale makes every day a battle. Connie is lazy, stuck up and spiteful - and Johnny's new best friend. As the conflict grows and Eve with it, will she fight for Johnny or concede defeat? Praise for Katie Flynn: 'A poignant war-time romance' Daily Express `A heartwarming story of love and loss' Woman's Weekly `One of the best Liverpool writers' Liverpool Echo 'If you pick up a Katie Flynn book it's going to be a wrench to put it down again' Holyhead and Anglesey Mail
AUTHOR: Katie Flynn has lived for many years in the north-west. A compulsive writer, she started with short stories and articles and many of her early stories were broadcast on Radio Merseyside. She decided to write her Liverpool series after hearing the reminiscences of family members about life in the city in the early years of the twentieth century. She also writes as Judith Saxton. For the past few years, she has had to cope with ME but has continued to write.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £6.99
£5.62
(You save £1.37 )
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781784755232
ISBN13:
9781784755232
Availability:
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Author:
Katie Flynn
Publisher:
Arrow Books Ltd
Publication:
19-Oct-2017
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
368
Weight:
262 Grams
The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel cover photo

The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel [9781501110474]

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the thought-provoking (Library Journal, starred review) and must-read (Pop…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Century of Grimsby cover photo

A Century of Grimsby [9780750949194]

This fascinating selection of photographs illustrates the extraordinary transformation that has taken place in Grimsby during the 20th century. The bo…

rrp: £9.99
£8.82
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Unsettled Dust cover photo

The Unsettled Dust [9780571311736]

Robert Aickman, the supreme master of the supernatural, brings together eight stories where strange things happen that the reader is unable to predic…

rrp: £8.99
£7.17
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Story of a Nutcracker cover photo

The Story of a Nutcracker [9780099596059]

Discover the real story behind the famous Nutcracker Christmas ballet, as told by Alexandre Dumas `How could you imagine, silly child, that this toy,…

rrp: £6.99
£4.94
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
We're Going on an Elf Chase cover photo

We're Going on an Elf Chase [9781408872413]

Stuffed with festive frolics, this is the perfect Christmas gift. From the bestselling Laura Hughes, illustrator of We're Going on an Egg Hunt&nb…

rrp: £6.99
£6.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Geronimo Cover Photo

Geronimo [9780008279752]

Meet Geronimo – the baby penguin who has one dream and one dream only – and that is to fly! But everyone knows penguins can’t …

rrp: £12.99
£7.80
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Father Christmas's Fake Beard cover photo

Father Christmas's Fake Beard [9780552576666]

A collection of wonderful Christmas stories from the fantastically funny Terry Pratchett. With incredible illustrations from Mark Beech. Have you eve…

rrp: £6.99
£6.02
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
The Flame cover photo

The Flame [9781786893130]

THESE POEMS AND NOTEBOOKS ARE THE LAST WORD FROM THE LATE, GREAT LEONARD COHEN The Flame is a stunning collection of Leonard Cohen's last poems and wr…

rrp: £20.00
£12.31
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Peep Inside A Fairy Tale The Nutcracker cover photo

Peep Inside A Fairy Tale The Nutcracker [9781474915557]

Peep inside and follow the adventures of a little girl and her Nutcracker doll one magical Christmas night. The cut-out pages enhance the magic and Ch…

rrp: £9.99
£7.64
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
The Peace of Wild Things: And Other Poems cover photo

The Peace of Wild Things: And Other Poems [9780141987125]

I come into the peace of wild thingswho do not tax their lives with forethoughtof grief. I come into the presence of still water.And I feel above me t…

rrp: £8.99
£6.43
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.