This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Cage without Bars [9780863565021]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
The small boy was trying to climb over the wall surrounding the labyrinth when he heard the elderly people back home shouting at him to go back to bed. His grip on the wall loosened and he fell, awaking from his dream to find himself now seventy years older, seated as usual in his armchair watching people around him involved in busy discussions. His problem of not hearing well sometimes placed him in 'a cage without bars' whenever he happened to be in a big group. The dream of the labyrinth took on different aspects: he waded through multiple environments crowded with people who, coping with different problems themselves, faced the same isolation that left them all politely ignored by others. Coming out of the labyrinth, he found that the circumstances of his dream had evaporated. All the same, the beauty in life does not evaporate ...
AUTHOR: Ibrahim Yared was born in Egypt in 1925 and trained as an electrical engineer. He worked in Lebanon as a consultant for fifty years before retiring. He is the author of In the Middle of Nowhere: A Quest for Belonging and Watching from a Distance, also published by Saqi Books.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £6.95
£6.53
(You save £0.42 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780863565021
ISBN13:
9780863565021
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
Ibrahim Yared
Publisher:
Saqi Books
Publication:
09-Oct-2002
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
101
Weight:
168 Grams

A Burnable Book [9780007493326]

A stunning debut historical thriller set in the turbulent 14th Century for fans of CJ Sansom, The Name of the Rose and An Instance of the Fingerpost. …

rrp: £12.99
£11.75
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Bunch of Sweet Peas cover photo

A Bunch of Sweet Peas [9781841953878]

In 1911, in the Scottish Border village of Sprouston, the young parish minister wrote to the Daily Mail for entry forms for its sweet pea competition.…

rrp: £8.99
£6.79
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Candle or the Sun cover photo

A Candle or the Sun [9789814351355]

Early in my working life I had discovered that salesmanship consisted not of providing people with what they needed, but with that was essential to th…

rrp: £11.99
£11.27
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Career in Accountancy cover photo

A Career in Accountancy [9781788032865]

The highs and lows of working as a Chartered Accountant in London and Devon. Garth Pedler realized he had a penchant for figures when, having be…

rrp: £9.99
£9.39
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Dangerous Man cover photo

A Dangerous Man [9781471157646]

'The smoothest writing and best storytelling you'll ever read . . . Just keeps getting better and better' DAVID BALDACCI 'You can always rely on Elvi…

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Canticle For Leibowitz cover photo

A Canticle For Leibowitz [9780356513171]

The classic science fiction novel of a future dark age and humanity's new renaissance It is a new dark age of fear and ignorance.An atomic Flame Delug…

rrp: £9.99
£9.39
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Dangerous Fortune cover photo

A Dangerous Fortune [9781509864294]

Epic in its scale, A Dangerous Fortune tells of the dramatic highs and lows of the wealthy Pilaster family from the bestselling author of The Pillars …

rrp: £9.99
£9.62
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Busy Day for Birds cover photo

A Busy Day for Birds [9781406378047]

Flap your wings, fly up high, open your beak and sing in this fun action rhyme story about fantastical birds by multi-award-winning author Lucy Cous…

rrp: £6.99
£6.57
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days

A Call for Revolution [9781846045899]

A rallying cry for the whole world, by one of the most respected leaders of our troubled times. This eloquent, impassioned manifesto is possibly …

rrp: £5.99
£5.30
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
A Busy Day for Birds cover photo

A Busy Day for Birds [9781406376548]

Peck, hop, flap and make some noise in this story full of colour, rhyme and feathered friends - now in paperback!Flap your wings, fly up high, open yo…

rrp: £7.99
£7.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days