This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Black Fox Running [9781408896129]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
`I have never read a novel about animals and the British countryside - with the single exception of BB's The Wild Lone - which has so moved or entranced me. Never' John Lewis-Stempel This is the story of Wulfgar, the dark-furred fox of Dartmoor, and of his nemesis, Scoble the trapper, in the seasons leading up to the pitiless winter of 1947. As breathtaking in its descriptions of the natural world as it is perceptive in its portrayal of damaged humanity, it is both a portrait of place and a gripping story of survival. Uniquely straddling the worlds of animals and men, Brian Carter's A Black Fox Running is a masterpiece: lyrical, unforgiving and unforgettable.
AUTHOR: Brian Carter was an artist, poet, columnist, children's author, naturalist and broadcaster who influenced a generation of nature writers. His six novels all explore man's relationship with nature, the first of which, A Black Fox Running, was published in 1981. His art was exhibited at the Royal Academy in London and at galleries in Paris, Germany, Holland and Canada, and he had a one-man show on London's West End. He fought and won many conservation battles for the English countryside and had a great love of the natural world, particularly of Dartmoor, living in sight of it for most of his life. Melissa Harrison's debut novel Clay won the Portsmouth First Fiction Award, was selected for Amazon's `Rising Stars' programme and chosen by Ali Smith as a Book of the Year for 2013. Her second novel At Hawthorn Time was shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2015 and longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2016. Rain, a work of non-fiction, was longlisted for the 2016 Wainwright Prize. Her new novel is All Among the Barley and will also be published by Bloomsbury. A freelance writer, occasional photographer and columnist for The Times, the Weekend FT and the Guardian, she lives in South London.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £8.99
£8.95
(You save £0.04 )
Availability:
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781408896129
UPC:
9781408896129
Availability:
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Author:
Brian Carter
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication:
14-Nov-2019
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
400
A Widow's Hope cover photo

A Widow's Hope [9781529400717]

A gripping saga about guilt, secrets and an enduring love from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.I…

rrp: £6.99
£6.29
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Delayed Rays of a Star cover photo

Delayed Rays of a Star [9781526609014]

When a photographer captures Marlene Dietrich, Anna May Wong and Leni Riefenstahl in one frame at a party in Berlin in 1928, no one realizes the exten…

rrp: £16.99
£13.85
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Snowed in at the Practice cover photo

Snowed in at the Practice [9781471164033]

Welcome to the Larkford Surgery in the Cotswolds, the heart of a tightknit community as well as a hotbed of drama, rivalry, resentment and romance - a…

rrp: £7.99
£7.19
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
The Nine Lives of Christmas: Can Battersea's Felicia find a home in time for the holidays? cover photo

The Nine Lives of Christmas: Can Battersea's Felicia find a home in time for the holidays? [9781409192657]

It's Christmas at Battersea Cats and Dogs Home and Laura is desperate to find a home for Felicia, a spiky, bad-tempered moggy with a heart of gold. He…

rrp: £7.99
£7.19
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
The God Child cover photo

The God Child [9781408882429]

Maya grows up in Germany knowing that her parents are different: from one another, and from the rest of the world. Her reserved, studious father is di…

rrp: £14.99
£12.63
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
Daughter of the Tigris cover photo

Daughter of the Tigris [9780857056825]

The follow-up to the internationally acclaimed The President's GardensOn the sixth day of Ramadan, in a land without bananas, Qisma leaves for Baghdad…

rrp: £14.99
£13.16
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 14-Nov-2019
In Praise Of Shadows cover photo

In Praise Of Shadows [9781784875572]

A fully illustrated, beautifully produced edition of Junichiro Tanizaki's wise and evocative essay on Japanese culture. `We find beauty not in the …

rrp: £9.99
£8.63
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 07-Nov-2019
Three Little Truths cover photo

Three Little Truths [9781786496195]

Martha used to be a force of nature: calm, collected, and in charge. But since moving her husband and two daughters to Dublin under sudden and mysteri…

rrp: £12.99
£11.69
Add to Cart
Pre-Order. Publishes 03-Oct-2019