This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

A Backward Place [9780349142753]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Six colourful, comic characters inhabit A Backward Place. All but one are Westerners who have come to Delhi to experience an alternative way of life. But, far from being hippies, their ability to adapt to this exotic culture often leaves something to be desired. Etta, an aristocratic, faded beauty maintains her Parisian chic while Clarissa talks enthusiastically about the simple life but stops short of ever roughing it herself. On the other hand Bal, the one Indian protagonist, holds quite Western aspirations to Hollywood glamour.A Backward Place humorously explores contradictions in attitudes and lifestyles and the interplay between culture and individuality. But it is also a Dickensian drama, charting the highs and lows of everyday life against the enchanting backdrop of a bustling Indian city.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £9.99
£9.40
(You save £0.59 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780349142753
UPC:
9780349142753
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
Publisher:
Abacus
Publication:
07-Dec-2017
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
320
A Bird Like Himself cover photo

A Bird Like Himself [9781910328026]

One day a large egg is left in a forest. It hatches out a chick who needs care and love. But his mother isn't there! So a wonderfully unlikely assor…

rrp: £11.99
£11.39
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Brief History of Gangsters cover photo

A Brief History of Gangsters [9781472110541]

The romanticised American gangster of the Prohibition era has proved an enduringly popular figure. Even today, names like Al Capone and Lucky Luciano …

rrp: £8.99
£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Brief Guide To The Hunger Games cover photo

A Brief Guide To The Hunger Games [9781472110589]

A comprehensive and compelling guide to Suzanne Collins's bestselling young-adult, dystopian trilogy The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay. A…

rrp: £8.99
£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Brief Guide to Jeeves and Wooster cover photo

A Brief Guide to Jeeves and Wooster [9781780338248]

A comprehensive guide to P. G. Wodehouse's two best-loved comic characters, Bertram Wilbeforce Wooster and his valet ('Reggie') Jeeves, Bertie's frien…

rrp: £8.99
£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Brief History of Britain 1066 - 1485 cover photo

A Brief History of Britain 1066 - 1485 [9781845293963]

From the Battle of Hastings to the Battle of Bosworth Field, Nicholas Vincent tells the story of how Britain was born. When William, Duke of Normandy,…

rrp: £8.99
£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Brief History of How the Industrial Revolution Changed the World cover photo

A Brief History of How the Industrial Revolution Changed the World [9781845298975]

From the beginning of the eighteenth century to the high water mark of the Victorian era, the world was transformed by a technological revolution the …

£9.40
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
A Bear Called Paddington cover photo

A Bear Called Paddington [9780008264000]

Things are always happening to me. I'm that sort of bear. PADDINGTON Celebrate Paddington's 60th Anniversary with this exquisite gift edition. Unabri…

rrp: £20.00
£12.34
Add to Cart
Delivery usually in 2-6 working days.
Pretend You'Re Safe cover photo

Pretend You'Re Safe [9781472252920]

Pretend You're Safe is the new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Kari…

rrp: £8.99
£8.54
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Blame: For fans of The Girl Before cover photo

Blame: For fans of The Girl Before [9780751557336]

A breathtaking psychological thriller about one girl's search for justice, perfect for fans of JP Delaney's The Girl Before and Michelle Frances's The…

rrp: £8.99
£8.76
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Re-Nourish: A Lifetime of Eating Well cover photo

Re-Nourish: A Lifetime of Eating Well [9781473661769]

Leading Harley Street Nutritionist Rhiannon Lambert, is of the firm belief that getting back to basics and keeping nutrition simple is the easiest way…

£18.99
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days