This website uses cookies for analytical and functional purposes.

Trustpilot
MENU
Need Help?
Compare Selected 0

25 Great Walkers' Pubs in the Yorkshire Dales [9781445653297]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
There's nothing quite like a refreshing drink after a day on the fells and hills of the Yorkshire Dales. Scenic beauty, majestic views, impressive crags, towering cliffs, peaceful tarns, extensive caves and picturesque villages that are rich with the heritage and culture of more than a thousand years and visited by millions of people every year. And those who work within this stunning countryside ensure that the Dales and its communities continue to be vibrant for future generations. At their hub are inns that tell their own tales, cornerstones of local communities which reflect the social and economic story of a region that is evolving every day. In this book, we chart twenty-five of the best pubs in the Yorkshire Dales and find out why they have become favourites for so many over the years. Discover the inn that was frequented by playwright J. B. Priestley and still holds a traditional land-letting auction each year; the one that used to be the site of local trials and find the original Woolpack ... that serves beer in a very special way. Visit pubs that are tap houses, house waterfalls, display quirky signs, have impressive features, produce great food, play great music and so much more.
AUTHOR: Mike Appleton has been a journalist, editor, author and media professional since 1998. He has received critical acclaim for his publications. Born in St Helens, but now living in Lancashire, he made regular trips to the Yorkshire Dales with his father and those early days bore an obsession with area and its people, resulting in his book Yorkshire's Three Peaks. He's an active caver and walker, spending as much time as he can in the Yorkshire Dales, writing and photographing its unique landscape.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: £14.99
£13.99
(You save £1.00 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9781445653297
ISBN13:
9781445653297
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
Author:
Mike Appleton
Publisher:
Amberley Publishing
Publication:
15-May-2016
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
96
Weight:
290 Grams
25 Quick Cartoon Characters: Art Instruction for Everyone cover photo

25 Quick Cartoon Characters: Art Instruction for Everyone [9781942021148]

From knitting personality Vickie Howell comes an adorable collection of modern baby knits featuring a fresh new take garter stitch, everyone s go-to f…

rrp: £7.99
£7.51
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Things Every New Mom Should Know: Essential First Steps for Mothers cover photo

25 Things Every New Mom Should Know: Essential First Steps for Mothers [9781558328921]

Becoming a new mother is a time of joy, hope, and sometimes a little uncertainty. In this warm and heartfelt book, America's most-trusted childcare ex…

rrp: £12.99
£9.06
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
250 Best Meals in a Mug: Delicious Homemade Microwave Meals in Minutes cover photo

250 Best Meals in a Mug: Delicious Homemade Microwave Meals in Minutes [9780778804741]

The craze for microwaving portion-size dishes in a mug is building a head of steam. Meals in a mug are a perfect solution for solo dining, and they're…

rrp: £16.95
£15.53
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Years of the Ayrshire Road Run cover photo

25 Years of the Ayrshire Road Run [9781445681955]

The Ayrshire Road Run was instigated in 1993 as an adjunct to the established annual vintage rally organised by the Ayrshire Vintage Tractor & Machine…

rrp: £14.99
£13.99
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Bridge Conventions for ACOL Players cover photo

25 Bridge Conventions for ACOL Players [9781897106143]

If you're like most beginning bridge players, you want to know more about bidding systems, and especially conventions. Even if you just play socially,…

rrp: £11.95
£11.88
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
24 Hours on the Somme: My Experiences of the First Day of the Somme 1 July 1916 cover photo

24 Hours on the Somme: My Experiences of the First Day of the Somme 1 July 1916 [9781445655451]

A rare and forgotten first-hand account of the first day of the Battle of the Somme by a British infantry soldier who went 'over the top' and survived…

rrp: £9.99
£9.39
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
250 Days: Cantona'S Kung Fu and the Making of Man U cover photo

250 Days: Cantona'S Kung Fu and the Making of Man U [9780008400620]

An incredibly entertaining and perceptive look at the most controversial moment in Premier League history. 25th J…

rrp: £8.99
£7.79
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
24 Hours in Ancient Athens: A Day in the Life of the People Who Lived There cover photo

24 Hours in Ancient Athens: A Day in the Life of the People Who Lived There [9781782439769]

Spend 24 hours with the ancient Athenians. See the city through their eyes as it teeters on the edge of the fateful war that would end its golden age.…

rrp: £12.99
£12.21
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
24 Hours in Ancient Egypt: A Day in the Life of the People Who Lived There cover photo

24 Hours in Ancient Egypt: A Day in the Life of the People Who Lived There [9781782439110]

Spend 24 hours with the ancient Egyptians. Ancient Egypt wasn't all pyramids, sphinxes and gold sarcophagi. For your average Egyptian, life was tou…

rrp: £12.99
£12.21
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days
25 Days 'til Christmas cover photo

25 Days 'til Christmas [9781409181538]

A contemporary, emotional, but ultimately feel-good, festive up-lit novel for fans of Jenny Colgan, Debbie Johnson, and Holly Martin.Kate Potter used …

rrp: £8.99
£8.45
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-10 Working Days